CAPE DWARF CHAMELEON

in #chameleon7 years ago

I was delighted to discover a Cape Dwarf Chameleon (Bradypodion pumilum) this afternoon because now I can enter @papapepper 's combination photography competition again. Check it out here https://steemit.com/photography/@papa-pepper/combination-photography-contest-from-papa-pepper-week-2.

Here's my photo of this beautiful little lizard, I put him on a bitou bush which is in full flower at the moment.

IMG_2988.JPG

The Cape Dwarf Chameleon is one of the larger dwarf chameleons, they can get a little larger than the one I found today - but certainly not as large as the more common flap necked chameleons which South Africans up north might more commonly find in their gardens. This little chameleon is an endemic species found only in the fynbos of the Western Cape. What a special little creature!

IMG_2997.JPG

IMG_2998.JPG

Look at his delightful dragon spikes along his back and the delicate pink speckles along his sides.

Whilst they can move quite slowly and sit very still for long periods of time, they can also move when they want to and this little guy posed quite a challenge in terms of getting the photo. He kept trying to disappear deeper into the bush - you can just make out his tail in the last of these images.

IMG_2995.JPG

IMG_2990.JPG

IMG_2996.JPG

Finally feeling that I'd stressed the little guy out enough, I took a selfie with him (as per the requirements of the competition) and put him back in the original bush I found him in.

IMG_2994.JPG

Here is a photo I took a couple of years ago of another Cape Dwarf Chameleon. This one had wonderful colouring, down to his gorgeous "beard".

backgardenNov2013 003.JPG

Sort:  

I love it! How cool and very bright!

Absolutely beautiful pictures. I have always had a soft spot for chameleons.

Thanks @petruska13. Yes, chameleons are special.

Absolutely amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.07
ETH 3004.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26