You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Name Your Top 3 All-Time Favorite Movies" 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day 19

I think besides my own post, this is the first one I've read where the author has listed all three (or four) movies I've actually seen.

Jurassic Park is classic. Hard to beat a Spielberg movie that's based on a Crichton novel. I would put it above Jurassic World any day, even though that movie was good. Just not as good as the original. We'd never seen dinosaurs like the ones in Jurassic Park before and that made all the difference.

Terminator 2 turned the franchise from a cult hit into a box office success and followed up Cameron's monster hit with Titanic. The use of the new special effect technique for the T-1000 was awesome, and converting Schwarzeneggar's original Terminator from the villain to the hero was a master twist.

Face Off And The Rock are classic Cage movies, and though I've only seen them on TBS/TNT, I would say I enjoyed both of them. There's just something about Cage that I like, even if his characters, and him, are just a bit off. I liked him in Gone In Sixty Seconds and the National Treasure movies, as well as Next.

Sort:  

All great points. It's hard for me to toss aside nostalgia when ranking my personal favorite movies. A lot of comedy movies went through my head as well, but there's just something about these action films I can't get enough of. Sudden Death, Long Kiss Goodnight, Sum of All Fears -- there's a bunch. They aren't "good" movies, but they are very enjoyable.

I guess that's why they have box office blockbusters and they have movies that win at The Academy Awards. :) It doesn't happen very often that you have a widely watched movie win an Oscar, and very rarely does it happen to an action film, outside of something like special effects or something like that. It's too bad, really, because some great performances are turned in by characters in those movies, and the best action movies have good stories to them as well as character development. The spectacle gets in the way, I guess. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48