If You Can't Lift It, Then Don't Strain It!

June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Two:

I am sure many of us have been to the gym at some point in our lifetime. Some of us even have/had a regular routine at the said facility. One thing that bothered me the most, started when I was in university, was seeing people, men in particular, attempting to lift more weights than they could safely or comfortably.

I was never set on a strongman competition or trying to emulate Arnold Schwarzenegger in his prime. I played safe at the gym. As long I got my workout in, I was satisfied.

bad.jpg
(Gross exaggeration, but you don't want to do this.)

Maybe you want to impress the ladies (or guys) or perhaps sizing up other fitness fanatics in the room? However, if you are bench pressing anything similar to the guy in the picture above, you are doing it wrong. Not only are you not giving your muscles the push they need to grow, you could potentially hurt yourself.

I constantly come across others who are not much bigger than I am attempting 200+ pound (90+ kg) bench presses with awkwardly arched backs or using massive dumbbells that require "swings" to do curls. I know it is a hard concept to grasp, but most people will not bother to take notice of how much weight you are working with unless you are one of those "gym bros" who want to show off.

I am in no way a big man. Standing at 5'7" (170cm) and 160lbs (73kg), I'm okay with bench pressing my usual 115-135lb (52-61kg) with multiple reps to make sure I feel the burning sensation.

Another thing to consider is a balanced workout. Many of you are probably familiar with the following imagery:

leg.jpg
(The infamous leg day meme)

I swear I see that EVERY time I go to the gym. It makes me want to take a sledgehammer and sweep them down at their chicken legs. Skipping leg day is essentially defeating the purpose of fitness. You look ugly and would probably make a fine patient for a knee surgeon one day.

When it comes to leg day, the same concept applies. If you can't lift it, don't strain it! While your leg muscles should be stronger than your upper body, always exercise proper forms and never lift with your knees unless you want woes down the road.

Finally, if you want a chiseled form, please consult a trainer. That's why they are there.

divider.png

Remember to always be safe while trying to be healthy!

NEVER. SKIP. LEG. DAY.

Most of all, it's a personal progress. Don't stress out by always comparing yourself to others.

Got some other tips for life? Share them with the tag #Challenge30Days!

Sort:  

lol oh my, that pic is just not right.

I was a little muscular before having babies. After having babies, my shoulder and arms are more muscled from carrying baby weight. Uhm leg day is everyday :)

Btw, don't skip leg day.

I guess that only leaves the core muscles to worry about!

You mean my jiggly tummy? Lol I can work on the core muscles, I'll eat more.😀

Please refer to our user guide. You submitted this post more than once so we will be keeping the excess amount as donation as declared in our user guide. When you submit a post more then once it creates more work for our service and delays our upvotes. Thank you for your cooperation.

It was probably just lag on the submit button, so it counted me as hitting it twice.

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 42.00%. Estimated dollar amount of $1.79

You just planted 0.25 tree(s)!


Thanks to @enforcer48

We have planted already 5241.51 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25660.03
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You just planted 0.25 tree(s)!


Thanks to @enforcer48

We have planted already 5143.79 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25660.04
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60