June 30 Days Writing Challenge - Life Hacks - Day Twenty Sixth: Fasting

in #challenge30days6 years ago

It's already the twenty sixth day of the writing #challenge30days and it's been a pleasure of being part of it, as I repeated over many of my related posts. Yesterday I started the week with a post about laughing and why I see it a gem and an utmost important life hack of mine. Today I will reveal to you another important life hack of mine from the health category and that is fasting for 24 hours.

No matter how much I try on living and eating healthy and "giving up" on junk food there's at least one day a month when I pause eating and I start drinking...more water. And that's how my fasting works. Almost twenty four hours of an empty stomach and about 3-4 liters of water to flush it and my intestines. I will not make a "scientific posts" by exposing fastings health benefits as you can take a look in here and see for yourself, but I will point out what I am after when fasting, how do I fast, when and how I feel.

When I discovered fasting I was doing it one day a week and I had in mind two rabbits to go after: one was health related as a natural detox and the other was a bit spiritual which for me meant calming my mind a and balancing my feelings which seem to me a must at that time. Both were benefits read from the internet about fasting and that's what determined me to make a habit out of fasting one day a week for one year.

table-2777180_1280.jpg
image source

Now I will tell you how do I actually fast. I have my dinner, for example at 7-8 PM, and then I won't eat anything until the next day at about the same hour. BUT, very important in this equation is the water. In order to have an efficient toxins flushing and a proper body detox I drink at least 3 liters of water during that time. This way the body won't dry out, but instead will take out toxins and inflammation and cleanse the stomach and the colon and that's my simple recipe: no food and just water, about 3-4 liters, for 24 hours.

As I mentioned above in the introduction I've done this for one year once a week a few years ago, but that was back then. Now I am fasting whenever I feel the need to do that. Whether I have an indigestion, I have some belly pain or feel filled with waste I fast. Sometimes I do it once a month, sometimes more often and sometimes a just few times a year, but I do it whenever necessary and it's highly efficient.

Regarding on how I feel I can say that I feel cleaner, lighter, more sharp minded and fresh. What's funny is that food tastes better when eating the first time after one day of fasting. It is important though to have a banana or a soup after fasting or any other light meat and not jump out of it with a hamburger or a stake. Take it slow on your body and it will take care of you. But before actually practicing fasting as I do I would recommend you to see a doctor or a therapist and ask whether it suits you and your health and then put into practice.

PS: If you like this writing challenge feel free to read the introductory post of @dragosroua and join the fun with your life hacks posts. If you find this man cool enough why not check his steem.supply app and see when you will be paid and how high is your potential growth on the Steem platform. I would encourage you also to give him your witness vote as he "really witnesses" and cares about our favorite blogging platform.

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63607.06
ETH 3476.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51