One big takeaway from the release of the roadmap for 2017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago

With the release of the roadmap all sorts of discussions have kicked off, which is quite interesting.

roadmap
image source

When I read the document today, the one thing that struck me was ‘vision’.

I got the feeling that @dan and @ned actually have a vision of where this is all going, and they have a fair idea of how to get there.

Not all of the nuts and bolts are in place. Indeed, they’re not sure where to buy some of the parts they are likely to need sometime in the future. But what they do know is that what they have got so far is working – and it’s a good thing. And with the help of the community they can finds the bits they need, when they need them.

This started out as an experiment to see if it could be done, to see how it might work.

Now I get the feeling that they have validated their ideas and concepts, and are now seriously pulling out all the stops to make this a stunning success.

There are things in the roadmap that I may not agree with. There are things missing from the roadmap that I think would make a big difference to Steemit.

But there are two salient points to keep in mind when criticising the roadmap.

  • 1 – I’m just a user of the platform. This is not my project, my vision, my seed funding, my ulcer, my sleepless nights, my risk. So it makes sense for the guys at Steemit Inc. who’s vision this is, to focus on their vision and bring it fully to life. You don’t have to like it, you can always go back to Facebook and Reddit. I can wait a bit for the things I want to make it into the platform. I'm here for the long term, so I don't need all my wishes granted today.

  • 2 – I’m a developer, so I know how much work goes into large projects like this. I’ve worked on some pretty big stuff (I’m working on some pretty big stuff right now) and you just won’t believe the effort required to get something like this working correctly. And that’s just hacking out the code! There is a lot more involved than sitting in a dark room, living on beer and pizza while you frantically debug someone else’s code – again.

The roadmap is a plan, a medium term plan. It won’t be implemented overnight. Indeed it may (probably will) take a couple of years to implement everything in there. But that’s ok.

Because they have a plan, and are moving forward and executing the plan, and we get to sit back and benefit from all their hard work.

So get in behind the vision, support it, offer suggestions, offer to help, participate in the platform and make it the best place you can make it.

There are plenty of Steemians doing just that, and it’s on the backs of their efforts and those at Steemit Inc. that us mere minnows can hope for a bright future where we can finally get meaningful rewards for our time, talents and attention.


This post counts in @dragosroua's Challenge 30.

Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Steem PowerCurationReputationPostsPowering up

Get your own badges from: https://steemit.com/@elyaque

Sort:  

Yes indeed, we are part of that creation process and get to witness the growth and adjustments being made as we adapt and grow in progress. Success to Steemit in the long run and we await big things in the future. Nice post. Upvoted

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40