Writing Improvement: Ideas

in #challenge307 years ago

Slow or Poor Writer

Are you like me and struggle to write, sitting down working hard and finally feeling of exhaustion when your done. It's never to late to work on our skill of writing.

“You are what you write these days”

If your anything like me you simply rethink everything as you write. It takes time, and just my time here on SteemIt is proof that the more you work on your skills of writing the better writer you will become. Of course there are many ways to have your worked checked for spelling, and if you're like me not using a word document to type there are tools that can help with grammar.

One tool I have found is grammarly. This tool can be added to Chrome browser making it available on any webpage you write. Another great tool that helps in simplifying your writing is Hemingway app.

writing

A couple steps that I have started taking, and they have helped.

  • Cutting out white noise! Simply put turning off the TV while I work on writing.
  • Setting up a dedicated amount of time to writing. Has not been the same time daily, but when I do sit down I don't let things distract me.
  • Just writing, I know I can not spell, and at times my grammar is bad. I can always go back and fix those problems before I'm done.

Image Sorce 1, 2

Sources 1, 2

If you have other ways or ideas that help you please leave them in the comments! Thank you for reading, you can always upvote, follow, and resteem! Thank you for your support. I did write this for the 30 day writing challenge!

Badges
Thanks to SteemVerify.com and @elyaque

Follow @smysullivan
Thanks to @papa-pepper for the last gif.

Sort:  

Its handy to have a memo on your phone for when inspiration hits you whilst out :)

That's a very good point!

I use google drive and I have a folder on my phone where I create a new note whenever I get a new idea. I then use that as a place to throw a few thoughts which I will convert to a story on the computer later when I am home.

I also try to write stories but hold off posting them to the next day. That way I can reread it again fresh just before posting it and make any last minute adjustments.

I just use my memo app seems to help . Ideas come to you when your busy then when you sit down write it the ideas lost. Glad you have found something that works for you :)

That sounds like a really great idea, never thought to save it for the next day to reread then post!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.31 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm terrible with grammar and vocabulary. Thanks for the tips. Maybe after these tools I can actually start to sound like I am smart :P

I try not to rate posts on grammar, spelling, or vocabulary. Since this is social media, we have all types on incorrect spelling and some is from honest mistakes to being on purpose. I'd say it's a must if you are being a professional or representing a professional business when publishing on a platform.

That is true just thinking about how in the future as search engines start looking at SteemIt pages grammar and especially spelling might help others find your work making the eventual new users to your old works.

smysullivan1 Smysullivan tweeted @ 12 Jan 2017 - 04:23 UTC

@Steemit #writing #Blog

steemit.com/challenge30/@s… / https://t.co/wknrCR2KGf

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Can I ask: what is the purpose of being " Steem verified"?
I'm pretty sure people know that I'm not a robot? lol

I asked about this too....and was told it wasn't necessary...but it might be when Steem rises -"they say, to make you more valuable which is a penny of two. I couldn't get a verification badge because I wouldn't publish a picture of myself with steemit written on a piece of paper to prove I am not a bot and that I am who I say I am....they told me to write on my arm then and take a picture. How that would prove anything, I don't know.
I am obviously not a bot either but that wasn't good enough for them.

It is something I did since I have not posted any pictures to prove I am a human, obviously writing great ideas can help with that as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56263.97
ETH 2964.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18