TIL: Tarantula can bite humanssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago

TIL Tarantulas' can bite humans

Crowning up my friends had a Tarantula, and I was always told they did not bite humans. In a conversation I just had with @timbo he said he was afraid of his spiders biting him, being they are hungry. I took a few minutes to confirm what he had told me and found it really is true, the Tarantula can bite humans.

so far there is no record of a bite causing a human fatality.

Image Source 1
Sources 1, 2

Thank you for reading I hope you learned something as well.

Badges
Thanks to SteemVerify.com and @elyaque

Follow @smysullivan
Thanks to @papa-pepper for the last gif.

Sort:  

WOW that's a big one.. scary things lol

They migrate through my city, and we see them year round here.

My hubby would die lol he is scared of a small spider

Me too but might consider getting one someday for my wife.

To bite her or because she likes them lol

She likes all kinds of bugs and animals, so it would be more a pet.

I do love my animals but not to keen on bugs, make sure you buy her a pretty one :)

I will get a pretty one might be in a few months or so. Kind of like a supprise.

That's sweet, let us know what you buy :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

AAAAAA!!!!!
I am afraid! Cool!

I like these cute little guys better than the snakes my wife wants to get.

I always believe they could bite based on what I saw but I am likely never gonna hold one, as you see, I don't have good luck in general - that'd be all I need.

From what I've read it's not likely for them to vote. But don't know if I would take that chance either.

Came to check your blog before I get offline w headaches again. Just letting you know I will try and check in first thing tomorrow to see what you put up.

If you check my wallet - I received an unexpected 2 transfers from @merej99 to help me and I wrote on her last post from 2 days ago to say thanks. Nite buddy

Tarantulas can definitely bite. Some species are more prone to bite than others, and even that can vary on the individual spider. Still, almost all tarantula venom is not much worst than that of a hornet or wasp sting. Not dangerous, just will hurt for a little while. I breed several species of tarantula. https://steemit.com/nature/@customnature/daily-nature-fix-the-littlest-giant-tarantula-you-ever-saw-original-photos-and-video

Thank you, seems like you have lots of fun hobbies. I never realized people bread spiders.

lol I have TOO MANY hobbies! They are fun though. :)

I need more hobbies, I'm working on getting ready to do new things!

Yes they bite. My five year old is desperate to hold a tarantula, but the pet shop won't let her in case they bite. Some have their fangs removed if they are handled a lot, like in reptile petting zoo type scenarios, where they have spiders as well.

How cruel! I couldn't imagine ever trying to remove their fangs. That is sad to hear. I feel your 5 year old and I would get along great though! Hey if ever in Colorado they can hold mine! :) Well, when they aren't so hungry haha.

Yea, I have asked to hold them at a pet store and they wanted me to sign a waiver just in case. They could easily tear your fingers flesh apart but the chance of that happening is one I am willing to risk.

That is really interesting, I hate spiders, but my wife want to get reptiles and such so I might have to get one!

This is untrue. The only times fangs are removed are before they are cooked and eaten in some countries. You can't remove a tarantula's fangs as that need them to eat. They inject venom through their fangs, which breaks down the insides of their prey into a soup, then they suck those juices out.. also through their fangs. If someone tries getting you to hold, or sell you, a tarantula and tells you their fangs have been removed, they're lying.

You are absolutely right, shouldn't believe what you read or told, even if, or especially if told by your know it all husband.

I'm actually really happy that they don't do this, as has been said it is very cruel. And tarantulas at the aforementioned place must actually just be pretty tame.

lol At the know it all husband part. I'm in the zoological field and I've heard all kinds of bogus claims over the years. Defanged spiders, spiders that laid eggs under someone's skin, exaggerated spider sizes, etc etc. It happens, I just try to inform them when I can. 👍

Aww! Thank you my friend, your words are kind and I am glad my love for spiders have taught you something!

That they did. Always love to learn something new.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69345.70
ETH 3342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74