Going Mainstreem (Mainstream)

in #challenge308 years ago

What does it take to go Mainsteem?

Going mainstream is where something is no longer simply enjoyed by a few people. Now it is enjoyed by a majority of people. Many people are struggling with finding ways to get their content found.

has gone from being considered a marginal interest, practiced by the few, to one that is followed/enjoyed by the majority of people

First off what is mainstream?

Something that many of us have not considered is the work others have taken to get their brand or blogs noticed. Blogging was introduced in the 90's but did not start to gain popularity until there were tools and platforms that had been introduced in 1999.

How do I get mainstream press and eyes on my brand?

Well, I would rephrase the question, how do I get my posts noticed here on SteemIt? I started to take a look back over the last couple of months. I set up an Excel sheet and decided to work through my list of blogs. I found I have written 66 blogs so far, out of those 66 blogs only 18 of them made it over $1.00, out of those 18 only 6 of them made it over $10. For the payout I'm only talking about the author reward.

Another tend I observed is that 13 of my posts have received over 100 votes of which 3 made less than $1.00. You may be asking why I took the time to go over all of this, I'm just trying to point out a trend, if the goal is to get our post mainstream it will take effort, and of course it will take finding where the votes are at!

Its understandable why so many fight to gain the attention of a whale, myself included, being it would be instant notice. But outside of getting an upvote by a whale there are other ways we can be seen, for me this shows that as a writer I need to look at the 6 posts that were over $10, and the 13 posts that received over 100 votes, to see what made them stand out, was it the tag, or topic?

So what am I Proposing?

If your really looking to get noticed, and want your posts to begin doing better then you may want to consider what has been working for you in the past! Being that we are here on SteemIt, some like me are looking to find our voice in writing, lets take a look at what we have done and make that work even better!

Lets get Started

One of the biggest comments people have told me that will make a blog unique is simply by being yourself, and your voice to your post. Over the next few days I'm going to continue looking over what has been working and what has not that way I can work in the direction that I need to take to be noticed. Being I complied the list I did a quick calculation to see and was surprised so far I have made roughly $2.16 per post.

If you have been struggling like I have and are looking for ways to increase your chances of a better payout I would recommend that you also take steps at looking at the work you have been doing. See what your doing good, and what you're doing bad at and from there you may start to be surprised at the results that you will see.

Conclusion

I would love to hear any other thoughts or ideas of things that you may have tried that either have worked or have not worked for you up to this point. Thank you for your replies and helping make SteemIt better for everyone. Another idea of mine that I have just started learning is going to be formatting which you can find some tips and tricks here. This is my first real attempt at using some of these formatting tips, any suggestions would also be helpful thanks.

Thank you for reading this far, please upvote follow and resteem if you like this.

Image Source 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sources 1, 2, 3, 4

Badges
Thanks to SteemVerify.com and @elyaque

Follow @smysullivan
Thanks to @papa-pepper for the last gif.

Sort:  

@merej99 just did a great post you might be interested in.

Thank you for that, crazy thing is I just read it and your right it is a very helpful post.

smysullivan1 Smysullivan tweeted @ 13 Jan 2017 - 05:24 UTC

@Steemit #Blog #writing #steemit

steemit.com/challenge30/@s… / https://t.co/SwrhHeQWUh

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80