Surviving Back at Work with the Blobs

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

I half heartedly started the Challenge30 task this month but now that the holiday is over I am determined to stick with it!

Today is my first day back at work after the festive break. My insides ache at the thought of leaving my beautiful baby girl at nursery after having had almost two weeks fun together. I know everyone has to do it but it doesn't make it any easier.

Oh well at least going back to work will get me back into the swing of things. Right?

My first ten minutes in the office go something like this.

Scene 1 : Kitchen Area, Kettle just boiled several people making tea/coffee

Me: Oh its hard being back isn't it
Blob1: You think? I couldn't wait to get back into it!
Blob2: I am relieved to get back to work and get a break from hubby and kids
Blob1: Oh yes, its too much spending all that time with them, you get cabin fever
Blob2: Haha, I was ready for strangling my husband, work has saved me from that

Cue much chuckling from the office blobs

Scene 2 : Boss Blob handing me some work to deal with that looks tortuously complex
Boss Blob: There you go, if you could get that back to me by lunchtime?
Me: Yes, I will have a look at it now. Did you enjoy your break?
Boss Blob: Well yes it was good but too much wine. You are glad to get back to normal aren't you?
Me: I don't mind the wine, haha
Boss Blob: Well, I am looking forward to getting back to the gym and not drinking

Boss Blob huffs off

Is it me? Does everyone else relish the thought of the holidays being over? Am I one of the very few who would quite happily not have to go and work and instead would love to spend my time doing more creative things and spending quality time with those I love?

It seems that most of my work colleagues are relieved to have the holiday behind them and I can't understand it!

Sort:  

Loved your allegory dialogue - calling the people "blobs"....made me laugh.
No it's not just you. I used to be the same way when my kids were young. I hated going back to work and leaving them in the care of someone else. I enjoyed my kids.
I remember some people saying they couldn't wait for them to turn 18 to leave home. I never understood that. I still don't and mine are all gone and married. I miss them still

That is exactly how I feel and I hear the same sentiment from people I work with and even friends. As if there children are a cross to bear. Perhaps they should have thought before having them!

Blobs just popped into my head. Good job this platform is relatively anonymous lol

Blobs.....I will use that for people who don't want their kids around....it's such a great word. It an be a secret word between you and other like minded people....you can start a "cult".....lol

I think I will start a series on them!

That would be so much fun!!! I would love that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35