Should I stay or Should I go...?

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

Thanks The Clash
Now the older ones have that stuck in their head...

Back in August when I first took a look at this Steemit thing, I remember saying to @s0u1, “I’m not going to do my usual red-head thing. I’m going to keep my head down and not let my temper get the better of me, for a change.”

“Yeah, right,” says he.

Well, Ner-ner! I told you I could do it and I have – so far

To be honest, it’s been exceptionally easy. The vast majority of people on Steemit are absolutely AWESOME!

The few (relatively speaking) we’ve met have been far and away thoroughly fantastic people. I think we’ve made some real friends here.

It’s been really easy to behave myself and for that, I thank you all.

This internet thing has come a long way from the basic days of ICQ (9528418 I think).

Back then, I started as an Op (moderator) in a mIRC channel run by LineOne (formerly Springboard, Delphi and later, TalkTalk). We had to apply for the position, have background checks run on us, sign a contract and loads of formal stuff.

Still, it was worth it. Instead of spending £600 a month on internet charges, (I did say it was right at the beginning…) we got the majority of the phone bill paid for because I was online working in the chatroom.

Every so often we had an expenses-paid trip to London for a meeting and when the chat service got bigger and more popular, we even had a stay in one of London’s hotels! Very nice too!

A couple of years later, some of us were trained up to become IRCops – in charge of the server, not just the chat room. We got a flat rate of ‘pay’ because the internet had become more stable, faster and cheaper.

I used the forums on the server as well as the chat rooms.

I watched a lot of people come and go. A lot of them went and came back. Some went, came back, went again, allowed themselves to be persuaded to come back or allowed themselves to be talked out of going in the first place.

There was one woman that left and returned using different names so no one would realise she just couldn’t keep away – talula (sad cow) if you’re watching – Bat-Girl.

I always said that if I ever decided to go, no one would know because I’d be gone before anyone realised. One day, I’d had enough and that’s exactly what I did.

I kept in touch with a number of friends I’d made, and one thing they all said was that I made a classy exit. No fuss, drama or bother, no threats or nastiness. I logged off and never went back.

Now, 2 decades on, still on the internet, still chatting, making friends and going to ‘meets’. The platform may have changed, but I’m noticing some of the behaviour hasn’t, and it’s a shame.

“I’m leaving! Don’t try to stop me!” (No, really, someone beg me to stay, I’ll stay… honest.)

“You’ll ALL be sorry when I’ve gone!”

“I’m such an asset to this place.”

“You’ll see…”

“I’ll…”

Seriously. If you’re not happy, either do something about it, or go.

If you are going to stick around and give it the good old college try – or at least the Robert The Bruce and the spider parable – If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, and try again, great, do that.

All you really need to know, is this. We’re all in the same boat here. It works the same for all of us. No one owes you a single damned thing and if you want votes (and therefore a reasonable payout), you get a lot more bees with honey than vinegar.

Please don’t get mad, scream, shout, make threats to leave and stay anyway – you look ridiculous and once you have that kind of reputation, it’s so hard to lose it.

Just so you know… I’m staying.

Day 5 Challenge 30

Images from Pixabay

Sort:  

Yes, the song is indeed in my head now haha. But, I've had much worse songs stuck in there before, so I'm okay with it :) Nice post, congrats on 5 days of 30-day challenge.

Thank you :)

I'm very fortunate, I can churn these little posts out quite easily... now, if I have to think about one... ;)

I challenge you to think about tomorrow's post! ;-) Look forward to reading it :)

Thank you... when would you like me to think about tomorrow's post? 5 minutes before I write it, like the previous two? ;)

How about lets make it a proper challenge - start thinking 5 SECONDS before you start writing and see what happens. Stream of consciousness!

Now im really looking forward to tomorrow :)

Ah... I've already done today's post. I'll have a go at your proposal tomorrow :)

It's very beautiful pictures!
And very interesting..Always your post is very nice dear @michelle.gent!!

I'm staying too!

And you... and you... and you... you're gonna love meeeeeeeeeeeee!!

That's what they hope anyway....

Hahaha! Cool :)

Ooh you had me worried there for a moment or two!

You know me better than that :)

I'm here for the long-haul... at least two years of it, like I promised right at the start :)

oh ye (me) of little faith ;-)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.44 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This was a trip down memory lane for me. I used to be an op on a few IRC channels too - seems like such a looooong time ago. I kept a friend as well for about 15 years after - she lives on the other side of the world. Wasn't it great just blocking someone for being a jerk? Can't do that here. On Steemit we have to use our big girl and boy manners and pop psychology to keep things smooth and "nice".
Fun post!

Those were the days... ;)

  1. ICQ!!!!!! "Uh-oh" LOLOL
  2. Yes the song stuck in my head for a minute until "and you and you and you... you're gonna love me!" And now... that's there.
  3. Spider picture. It's 2:55 am here. Whyyyyyyyy would you post a spider picture?!?! Not getting back to sleep here without hitting the lights and searching the room! Lol

Oops! Sorry about the spider... they're nice, essential creatures... well I like them :)

Essential? Yes.

But Bleeeeeeecccccccchhhhhhh!
;)

Cute and cuddly... no? :D

I'll take a snake over a spider any day ;)

Oh yes, I like snakes too :)

And they all seem to like me ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43