You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ANXIETY on STEROIDS - PTSD

in #challenge308 years ago

Toward the end when you said:

For years I refused to admit I had this disorder. I thought I didn't deserve to have it; I wasn't a war vet or a front line emergency worker. I didn't see the carnage or know the fear they had experienced. I wasn't brave. I didn't lay my life down for someone.

My first thought was - this sounds like a kind of survivor's guilt. You don't need to see carnage - but there is definitely war -- War with time, gravity, situations, loss, heartbreak. War against our mind and body from internal (biological and/or chemical) and external forces.

My husband's PTSD is not nearly as bad since he's finally begun talking about his triggers and really taking a hard look at the root of them. As for me, I need white noise in the background to get rid of the humming in my head. I also wear earplugs or stick paper napkins in my ears to dub certain sounds. I don't know if it's a placebo effect, but I've been taking St. John's Wort and I do feel calmer too.

That all being said - you honesty and willingness to share a part of your dark place is wonderful. We definitely need more of that and more writing from you! XOXOX

Sort:  

It's hard to know how much to share without sounding whiney.....you know what I mean Vern? My purpose was to "teach" about what PTSD feels like to a person who has it and hopefully try to destigmatize a bunch of the symptoms that are usually dismissed, made fun of as a human weakness and to stop the fancy quote platitudes thrown around - as if pulling up my socks will make things better.

I think writing about it helped me with clarity. Thanks for your X's and O's :)

I know what'cha mean, Ernest. LOL
And I would definitely say your post was informative and nowhere near whiney. I've seen hubby transported to a different time and place while he was standing in front of me. I've also had to duck from some wild swings when he's sleeping/dreaming/"back in the suck".

So if pulling up your socks or painting your toenails makes it better, I say go for it! ps - I found a boogie man trap for ya. ;)

I love the baby footwear.....I gotta get me some of those to dangle over my bed and on my car rear view mirror....then all will be well. How do I know? Ernest said so, that's how.
Also, the only socks I pull up are my Punky Brewster socks....now those are some fancy feel better mood socks, know what I mean?
Ernest as a baby cracked me up......what a great little video...I'll have to save it for when I need a laugh.
Thanks lady!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41