Ever recycled unwanted and garbage-meant items before??steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

The bonsai stand.

One of my brothers was into bonsai and have won  bonsai competitions in our province. This is a remnant to one of his bonsai. I must say that he did very well in turning it to this! You can agree or disagree, feel free.

Since starting his furniture-making company a few years back, he is denying it but I think that he have neglected some of his plants (obviously!). There are centainly less bonsai in our garden right now.

Mr. Singer stand...he looks sexier now!

My brother actually suggested for me to buy 2 of this in the scrapyard of another town few years back. He then turned them into 2 gorgeous tables scattered around the house.

Some of his customers have wanted to buy them but he refused.

"Why the heck not if you need a capital?"

"Because I like it??" he answered back. Where else will he get his capital if he won't sell his "creations". Now, our family house is getting smaller year after year.

A weaving wheel?

Ilocos Sur in Northern Philippines is known for weaving such as blankets, table-cover, placemats, bags or anything that can be woven. My friends' moms in London apparently love those woven placemats I have given them as gifts. Quite cheap too! 

I don't ask my brother anymore on where he get his stuff. I kind off like what I see so I let him be. Makes coming home from abroad more interesting when I see new ones he makes. 

Before I forget, this post is part of the challenge30 that @dragosrua have commenced for the whole January. I am not a blogger so pardon me if most times my posts are lacking in quality. I am assuring everyone that I will try to become one this year of 2017. Can be one of my "resolutions" too. Fingers crossed.

All images are mine and were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.


Sort:  

I'm really big on recycling. I also have a hard time throwing things away, especially if I see some kind of potential to in. However, I occasionally have to purge. :-(

Purging is healthy ;) thanks for commenting.

He has talent, my hubby tried to keep bonsais but they didn't live very long as we had nowhere to keep them

He has, well we got space but theyre neglected. Bonsai isnt my forte but I will play with them while am here ;)

So your brother made that first one from bonsai wood? I think it's beautiful. I would prefer a different base but the gnarled wood is fantastic. He's very talented with wood working. Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome. He did yes. At some point, he started making cemented pots for his bonsai but he stopped now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51