I will live 16.667% longer than most people.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago

I used to think this was a curse - but I just needed to change my perspective.

And then ACT on that new perspective to reap the benefits.


That's often the way things are, when you really look at them.


We are dealt the cards we have.  And you can either fold them early in the game -  or take the risk, bluff, and potentially walk away with the pot.


As far as my years go - of course, I don't REEEEEEALLY know the day I'll die. 

When I said I'll "live" 16.667% longer than most people - I was playing with words.   (gotta get a good steemit hook for a title, right? hehehe)


What I meant was....


While most people are sleeping away 1/3 of their day. I am only sleeping away 1/6 of it.  I am wide awake.... and aware of every single second burning by. LOL

                                                                          

I sleep about 4 hours a night, on average.

and also on average, the typical person will sleep 8 hours a night. 


This is when all the sleepers chime in...

"Ohhhhh that's what you meant.  Well I could never..."

"Only 4 hours??? You poor, pitiful thing-you!"

"How do you function?  I would be a zombie."


Well, for years.  I was on your side!  I don't disagree with you.  I don't recommend 4 hours of sleep for anyone! Rest is a necessary and healthy part of life.  However, my brain is one of those brains that is constantly spinning, moving, planning, thinking....


And I decided - if ya can't beat em.  Join em.


4 extra hours a day - over a year?  that's about 60 extra days worth of time.  Really think about that.  What would you do with 60 extra vacation days from work?

Over 10 years? That's over 1.5 years of added time.   


Here's where my situation might not be like other insomniacs..... I'm not one of the 4 hour a night insomniacs that wake up feeling drained.  I actually do very well on 4 hours a night.  People are often amazed when I tell them how little I sleep because I seem like the energizer bunny.


                                    

(actually not the energizer bunny - but the resemblance to ME is uncanny.  I often strut to the beat of my own massive drum)

So one day, instead of laying in bed and trying to force it to come,   I heard my brain whisper, "You know.... if you flip this in your favor, you can actually "live" more each day - than the rest of the world.


ho ho ho!  Well, brain,  you make a good point.

and so.... I have.  


Maybe the brain only has so many thoughts... and then it just shuts down.  Maybe in reality,  I'm actually burning through my life faster.... lol

Unfortunately, I can't really control that too well.  My brain is one of the more stubborn varieties.


But for now - I'm hoping to bluff and take the pot.



another day for you... and me!  @dragosroua  :)

Sort:  

Before the industrial revolution upended society, normal sleep happened in two stages, each 3-4 hours with a break between them. They were called first and second sleep. This reminded me of that :)

That's awesome! I didn't know that!!!! I guessed I only need one of those stages!
Hahaha
I really think our society does need to rethink our schedules!!!! I like the idea of a siesta in the afternoon! Everything kinda shutting down and relaxing for a bit....

I keep a 'average' 5.5 hour sleep cycle. (works for me) I also, 4-5x a week swim and/or exercise. I'm not religious about it. I eat more than a 'normal' human should, but suffer no ill effects. I read (on average, 2 books a month) own no TV (over 20 years) I listen to probably 20+ audio casts a week. (Perhaps too much) - I like to think. I have a dog.

We have a tv... but no cable :)
I don't waste time with tv. I did used to enjoy documentaries.... but now without cable... Netflix just doesn't really satisfy.
I see you're a chef too! My hubby is as well :)
I wonder where they came up with "8 hours is ideal"?? I'm sure it's good for some... but I don't seem to need it!
And apparently you are the same way! :)

Maybe you just need much less sleep than average person do and you are right to challenge yourself to enjoy more hours of awake time if it doesn't hurt your health. Stay in bed hours without sleeping is a big waste of time !

About the "my brain is one of those brains that is constantly spinning, moving, planning, thinking....", this is the nowadays tipical brain of everybody. Only the ideas are different, not the compulsion.
I was like you, thousands of ideas, projects, reflexions, ... spinning, especially before sleeping.

It's cool because it's is creative but it's not sane to let it be without any control.

You should try meditation. You will regain the control over your mind. You will keep this frenesy of ideas whenever you like but when you will go to bed, you will simply turn it off and enjoy and peaceful time, free of mind crazyness, a deep sense of calm and joy before diving into a much better sleep.

I started with "the power of now" from Eckart Tole", a good book to set your path towards a more mindful life ;)

So actually a few years ago I found a remedy for shutting my brain off on command.... I wrote another post about it... but basically I have ASMR and one specific YouTube channel turns my brain off almost immediately. It's wild :)
Thank you for your full reply! I love when people engage in comments!
And yes... I have so many projects ... in various stages... and I love it!!!!! I use daily to be annoyed by my brain
Now I FULLY APPRECIATE the beauty and complexity of it!
Thanks again for you reply :)

Wow, we are taking this twin thing to new levels! I just got through telling @kiwideb that I am a bonified insomniac, that I sleep around four hours a night. Occasionally six, and once in a very great while my body will say time for a serious recharge and I'll sleep for twelve. But for the most part it's about four and it is also due to a brain that won't shut down. And I feel just fine with it :)

I was actually going to post "every 7-8 days or so.... I need a full 8 hour night to recharge."
Not kidding! I just didnt write it cuz I didn't think anyone would care about that part hahahahhaa
I should have known better that my TWIN would care and also most likely be needing the same thing!

See what I mean about same thoughts at the same time?!??? crazy! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48