Little known step in the process of growing grapes and making wine: What we do in the wintersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)

I have been out of town since the early morning and this is the first time I've been able to sit down at my computer, all the while the gnawing concern of "You have that challenge, you can't miss a day," in the back of my mind.
I've decided that the best thing I can do to alleviate the stress of this is to simply write something, anything, and it might as well be about my day, and a little background for it.



I live on the Finger Lakes wine trail. At some point, when the weather is nice and the skies are blue once more, I will do a post or likely several posts about the wine trail, with lots of glorious pictures. And they will be glorious as the setting for these wineries almost all have incredible views of both Seneca and Cayuga lake.
The reason I mention the wine trail is because it involves what we do for work in the winter, and what I was doing today.



We are what you might call the first rung on the ladder toward wine making, as wine could not be made without grapes and grapes can not grow without grapevines being planted in the form of rooted cuttings that vineyards and wineries purchase from nurseries. And still there is one further and little known step, and that is those who supply the unrooted cuttings to these nurseries. In upstate NY, that is us.



Essentially our task is to go into vineyards after the buds have hardened off with the first frost and come behind the trimmers, removing the vines that are hanging on the wire or lying on the ground. We put these vines into piles down the long rows, then gather the piles into bundles, tie them up, then bring them home to our shop where we process them.

This particular year we lucked out, and the early part of the season had many warm and sunny days.



As the winter progresses we generally go from walking up grassy lanes to stomping through several feet of snow.

The processing entails cutting these vines down to between twelve and fourteen inches in length, making sure there are at least three to four buds per vine, then bundling them one hundred at a time with galvanized wire ties. These bundles are then stacked by ten in a pyramid form and tied with red rope. And finally these are loaded onto a truck and delivered to various nurseries, most of them in or near Buffalo NY. Though we do ship some up out of state as well, to places all the way from Texas to Vermont.





Today I went on a delivery to the nursery we supply the most cuttings to, located in Fredonia NY, along with my step-son-who does the driving-and a friend of his who likes to ride along and help unload.















I hoped you learned something new today, any questions you might have about this little known side to the business of grapes and wine, feel free to post in comments!

Sort:  

Hey @dreemit!

The feeling of homeliness I got from your post is extraordinary! You certainly live in a beautiful part of the world and I just wish we had skies and scenery like that where I am. Here it's a jungle alright, but a concrete one.

Thanks for giving us all a little glimpse into the lovely world of @dreemit!

Bless... :)

I have lived in much more urban areas in my life, this happens to be the place I spent most of my formative years, and my father's health issues brought us back. (We've run this business for over a decade, but there were some years that we ran it from afar-24 hours away in florida for example)
I'm glad you enjoyed it, its a beautiful area. When spring comes I'll likely do a tour of waterfalls for steemit.

Bravo!!!!!!!!! Excellent post my dear friend @dreemit is amazing the wine work thanks for sharing.
Some day I want to process my own wine is a pending challenge and another thing I want to do is my own cheese.
Congratulations for this wonderful post

I've been off work for 17 days - and today was my first day back....I needed to get up early to get my writing in for the challenge hehehe I loved seeing a part of your life! beautiful! calming! thanks for sharing :)

Thank you sweet @dreemsteem ;) I finally have some time to sit down and catch up on my favorite post-ers, and I'm hoping for another chapter daydreeming...if not today then soon!

It's amazing how much trimming all those grapes take every year! But it has to be done! Will those cuttings be rooted for sales this spring, or does do the nurseries keep them for awhile? It's good you didn't have the feet of snow yet. It looks like your weather was great for being out there in the vineyard! Happy New Year! Have a great and grape-ful 2017! :D

Hi @haphazard-hstead! The ones we bring in this year will be kept until the next year at least, cuttings from previous years will be sold this spring :) There have been a few days of snow, but I haven't personally gone out in them yet, there's been enough good weather that I could pick and choose. Happy New Year to you as well!

Thanks for that extra bit of information. It's nice to understand the process and appreciate the effort behind the plants or seeds we buy. Stay warm -- you'll get tough weather sometime this winter, I bet!

I can see how that would be an enjoyable job!

💕💕💕

Sometimes pictures truly are worth a thousand words, thank you @mammasitta :)

I hope your wine is good m8 :) follow 4 follow?

I appreciate the comment, thank you :) I'll be glad to check in on you, usually if someone is brand new and they follow me and let me know I will check in on them and if they are a consistent post-er I will follow them back :)

How cool, @dreemit! I had no idea about the unrooted cuttings. My husband's uncle lives in Rochester and he's always making his own wine. I know we have a few vineyards in Florida but nothing like New York. I used to live a mile away from America's Oldest Winery! Oh man...the wine tastings... YUM.

Yes, the wine tastings are incredible, and also a bit of a downfall for me during nice weather LOL. Any excuse, particularly visitors, and I am traipsing down 414 toward Watkins Glen. There have to be over a dozen on that strip alone. One of my favorites for the atmosphere is the Rasta Ranch. Total hippie joint featuring wines like Purple Haze and Grateful Red. In the past couple years we've also had an influx of breweries and distilleries, one of my closest friends' brother owns a distillery and oh the hangovers haha! I try to stay away from liquor, it is not my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51