January 2017 - 30 Days Writing Challenge - The Reminder And A Few Tips

in #challenge308 years ago (edited)


Like I said in yesterday's article, here I am, with a reminder about the January's 30 days writing challenge.

It will start January 1st and it will end January 30th. You should have at least one article per day published during this period and you should tag it challenge30 (along with other tags you consider relevant, of course). Every day, starting January 2nd, I will compile a list of articles tagged challenge30 and publish the list on my account in order to keep everybody - me included - accountable.

This challenge is part of my perceived responsibilities as a witness. I truly think a witness shouldn't be involved only at the technical or economical level (although these two are fundamental) but he should also strive to understand community needs and to improve as many business processes as he can. Steemit is primarily a content platform, built around a cryptocurrency, so content should always be a priority here. And creating valuable, usable and interesting content on a daily basis it's not an easy task. A 30 days challenge should help with building the necessary skills for everybody interested in this thing for the long haul.

30 Days Challenges Tips And Tricks

Like I said, I did dozens of 30 days challenges and I am happy to share a few tips and tricks. They are just guidelines and suggestions.

  • make a list of topics in advance
  • if you can, try to have at least 2-3 articles (or drafts) in a safe place, just to be prepared if, you know, life hits
  • block time for the challenge in advance, do not rely on whatever free time may happen in your life
  • it's ok to write more articles and schedule them in advance, using whatever service you find appropriate (streemian.com and ladder.net have been mentioned by some of the fellows Steemians here)
  • don't look at the whole thing, try to make it to the first week and then re-evaluate. If you never did a 30 days challenge, 30 days it will seem like a lot and will create pressure
  • if you have time, try to log separately how you feel, what's improving, what's not improving and so on. Reading this after the challenge will be quite interesting.
  • keep the thought that even if this seems overwhelming now, it won't last forever, it's just 30 days.
  • yes, you can use the image of this article as a poster in your articles, if you want, it's ok :)

With that being said, let's make January an incredibly good month, shall we?

P.S. As I'm writing this, I just saw that I creeped in the top 50 witnesses, so I am visible on the Steemit official witness page. Thank you all for supporting my activity as a witness!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Well that's a nice thought Dragos.
I was intending to do something similar like a 30 days challenge for myself, so I will take upon yours as well.

Welcome aboard! Happy to have you here. :)

I like this idea more than NaNoWriMo so I'll join you too!

Good incentive to write, thank you :)

Resteemed!

Thank you, @michelle.gent, I tried NaNoWriMo a couple a years ago, but it didn't stick. I like these out of the blue challenges more. Welcome aboard :)

An official announcement. Great. Count me in.

Finished the book and left the review. 5 stars :)

Excellent! More next year. I am typing this on a phone...

Thanks you, looking forward to your posts! :)

Great accountability motivator Dragos!
Count me in!

I'm in!
or at least I'll try very hard to do this

Happy New Year!

Welcome aboard! :)

Hey mere....I'm in too....I submitted mine. You told me to write one word after the other and I did. Let's see if I can keep it up!

Glad you liked it, come join us :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.77
ETH 2736.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60