Life in Norway Part 3 - Hittin' the Slopes at Hovden (Short Film)

in #challenge307 years ago (edited)

Two things Norwegians love: cabin trips, and skiing. I was lucky enough to have the chance to experience both in one weekend, and it was awesome!

My colleague Sigmund from work invited the whole work crew to join for a weekend at his family's cabin in Hovden, Telemark county (birthplace of the Telemark skiing style), just minutes away from the Hovden ski resort.

Hovden2.jpg

What a generous offer this was! Sigmund is a solid dude. But, nothing comes free as they say. We had to earn our keep at the cabin by help clearing the snow load off of the back porch. As you can imagine, a winter's worth of snow can create quite a load in Norway that can stress roof and porch structures. I don't think I had ever seen so much snow before:

The next day, we were ready to hit the slopes. The weather was perfect and the snow was soft. The only thing lacking was my skiing skills. I'm good enough to get down the hill most of the time, but it isn't always pretty.

I was determined to make a decent GoPro film from the trip regardless of my skill level. Luckily, Sigmund is really good at skiing and took the camera along for a couple good runs through the jumps. So, basically all of the cool stuff you see in the film is Sigmund, and all of the lame stuff and wipeouts are me haha!

All in all, this was an amazing trip - amazing cabin, company, and slopes - and I can't wait to go skiing again!

Music credit: Rudy Zensky & Schwann - Stargazer (Silence & Voldex Remix), courtesy of NoCopyrightSounds


30 Days Writing Challenge Update

Day 5 and still going strong. The best news is I got my girlfriend to join in on Steemit, so check out @jilliankelsey! This will help me stay focused if she is into it as well. She's already done very well with her introduction post, and now she's got a second post up about her awesome Christmas experience in Denmark, so be sure to check it out!


Adventure Every Day is a new travel & exploration channel started in fall 2016. In addition to the Steemit blog, I post weekly short films of my adventures to the Adventure Every Day YouTube channel. Please follow and subscribe if you enjoy the content - it inspires me to keep making more and better!
alt text

Sort:  

Great pictures and video @adventureevryday. Looks cold but a lot of fun as well!

It's very beautiful post and nice pictures ..
Exchellent job ...I follow you now :D

Thanks @djsonic, back at ya :)

I think they also love skiing and shooting which is about as good a mixture of fun/badass I can think of. whoosh whoosh pew pew aaaaahhhhh my leg!

Hahahahaha cracking me up @tenfourgoodbuddy! So true though. That sport is one reason why this country of only 5 million absolutely RAKES at the Winter Olympics. Specifically, this guy, whose last name Bjørndalen translates to the equally badass "The Bear Valley": https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ole_Einar_Bj%C3%B8rndalen

Cool post buddy, upvoted and following you now. Cheers and happy new year!

Thanks @thejohalfiles, its great to connect with you! Happy New Year and look forward to seeing you around!

That's some serious snow!!!! and dare devil skiing!

Crazy snow, right? I wouldn't dare go off those jumps, but I was sure glad Sigmund could do it for the sake of the film.

Cool! Err...... cold!

Yes, not exactly a desert canyon haha! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61