Traditional Rivals - Australia and South AfricasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge7 years ago

So all true Ozzies and all true boertjies know the intense rivalry that exists between South African and Australian sports teams. Both nations are patriotic and competitive to a fault and it is this fault in our characters which has led to a desperate race to 1000 followers between me and my Oz adversary who shall for now remain nameless.

1000votes.jpg
Preempting the results of the race

For those who do not know me, or have been seriously deprived for not having followed me, I give you a short resume’. I am the Cape Town Ambassador to Australia and as such I am at any travelling Australian Steemian’s disposal should you require assistance when travelling to my beautiful city ( not fiscal or crypto assistance though… we have exchange rate problems and are all desperately poor …. Plus trying to buy followers tends to empty the coffers), but in matters of accommodation, tour itineraries and for the lovely lassies a tour guide if required … I am at your service.

If you are on my followers list preferential treatment will be considered (damn unsubtle hint that one)

oztwo.jpg
Lovely scenery and exchange rate of 12/1 makes for an attractive destination

I am also a moderately decent lawn bowler if I may modestly say so … but I seem to find something askew between the two countries lawn bowls participants, especially in the fairer sex.


Image Credit

These are the ladies I play with … and some more...


Image Credit

No offense meant as I am sure they were all beautiful .. a few decades ago.

whilst my Oz male counterparts play with these ladies …


Image Credit

Woe is me…. Some more


I must confess to being a Karen Murphy fan, she is LEGEND
Image Credit


image Credit

In this category I must concede ..Australia 3 - South Africa 0

Where am I going with this you may ask… not really anywhere just having a little bit of fun {friendly wave at @hannahlicious} … {meanders off to try buy some followers}

Thanks for reading....as always!!

Sort:  

hahahaha love it!

got 1 follower from that post :( :(

aww no! well slow and steady wins the race ;)

Not this one ....

Ah, it's too bad you didn't write this 2 days ago. You could have entered Gohba's lawn bowls comp. Oh well. Next time.

https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@gohba.handcrafts/fundraising-competition-lets-see-this-great-country

Arghhhh, missed that ... and I follow the #teamaustralia tag ... is the timezones I tell ya !! Nevertheless I shall meander over and give it a Cape Town vote. Thanks for reading my piffle {grin}

Several of my workmates are South African- so I've learned a lot about the place. It's on my travel list for sure.

Very kind of you. Will call on if I will ever come to S. Lol! Just joking. Again my brethren are not finding it funny in your country. Still joking.

So where you from my friend? Seems like some aggression in your comment?

Nice post, didn't work to get me as an additional follower as I am already following, better luck next time.

Yeah, these Ozzies dont bite. Maybe the time difference?

Good post^^

In my high school we had an Australian teacher who was the head of sport, he coached rugby and it was always funny. The other coaches and him would always be fighting.

Thank you ...

Love it... had a good giggle at the humour. So, I am in my 60's and looking to take up bowling - do you think I can get a team like the Australians but the male versions?

Absolutely ... they retire at 37 yrs old... and I strongly recommend you play the game...is marvellous. Thanks for the vote,

Great post. Sounds like fun. ^_^

Thanks .... But I gonna lose the race. {sob} ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63