My Life's greatest lesson : Lower your expectations

in #challenge6 years ago

Someone recently asked me in comment to answer honestly about how I reached where I am today in Steemit and my simple answer was Everything is on blockchain and you can for sure find out that it has not been an easy way out. I still consider myself to be nowhere, learning every day, communicating with people. You just need to learn and engage with the community.

Yes, I still consider myself to be nowhere, but I don't feel bad about it. Because I don't have high expectations.

So do I mean to say you should not have expectations ? No, just remove the high out of it. Without expectations, life is meaningless. Because you work on something with some expectations. So they are your inspirations. What I am trying to say is that don't have high expectations. Accept what you get, analyze why did not get what you expected and learn from it to do better next time.

life lesson.jpg

I have gone through lots of UPs and Downs here. There were times, when I was able to collaborate with powerful guys getting good upvotes where as there have been times when I got flagged. While all these moments kept my spirit fluctuating , I adjusted to all these slowly and have made up my mind to continue posting without very high expectations.

What is your Life's lesson ? Want to share your most profound life lesson with and win some SBDs ? If yes, then have a look at this post from @drpuffnstuff

The image is my own photograph.

Sort:  

We share a commonality in expectations. I went into Steemit with a realistic approach. I expected to make minimal (if any) monetary gains from the platform.

So I then asked myself, "What can I personally gain from Steemit" as in, from an introspective point of view.

I was thoroughly fed up with the moderation of social economic experiments, or Facebook for anyone who is confused by that statement. I truly believe that any heavily monitored, heavily moderated platform, is in place for statistical data, and what ever else they want to use the data for; targeted marketing and the likes. This for me was depressing.

I just like to express myself. I enjoy writing and fine arts. I'm a musician, and also a highly antisocial individual, who still obtains a propensity towards being an active member of society, or at the very least, a productive member with something to offer to others. I just struggle with social interaction because of mental health.

So what is my profound life lesson?

"When you've given up on yourself, and truly feel you've hit your bottom, that nothing can possibly get better because you're not living up to your potential, or fulfilling your purpose, just hold on a little longer. When you've exhausted your efforts for hope, and you've accepted that things can only get better for you, you've now opened the door to your true potential, and you may come to find out, you were chasing the wrong purpose all along. "

Thank you for this post. Very nice, and really cool photo! @futuremind

Well said,its a matter of choice not circumstance :)

by not expecting comes no disappointment.

That's what I have learned also the last few years.
Just have fun and do what you want to do. When it is real, people will love it.
When it is made, people will like it for a while.

Always stay true to yourself and nothing stands in the way of personal succes: happiness.

Great article. Could be applied to many aspects of life ;)

I also believe in this.

“A good traveler has no fixed plans
and is not intent upon arriving."

You may be nowhere but you are getting where you need to be! Just remember that and be the good traveler. Thanks for taking the time to share. This is a good lesson indeed, you are appreciated!

I operate on Steemit, replacing the monetary reward fixation with an engagement/interaction fixation. I know in my post I talked about how fixations and expectations were bad, I also said they are unavoidable.

To me a really good comment is worth more than big upvote. and your posts get decent engagement. So you are doing something right!

Life is life. You get what you put into it. Most people make the mistake of expecting so much from nothing. The end result is as good as your guess. Life demands a lot. It won't give you anything except you go on and take it,challenge it and defy all odds.

Thankyou sir! I Want to share my profound life lesson 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44