You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Micro-fiction writing contest (was #fiftywords) - Last week's winner and new prompt

in #challenge6 years ago

Hi, @Jayna.

@joeylim story is, as you put it, "devastating"; it is really touching. It made me remember what I felt the first time I read Naipaul's "The Maternal Instinct"; I felt a punch in the stomach when I read the famous line, “It good. It better that way,” which was Laura’s answer to the news: her oldest child, Lorna, had drowned with her baby. No doubt, it was terrible, but to Laura, it was better than Lorna’s going through a life of suffering because of the same mistakes she had made. Why @joeylim makes me remember this? Well, it is the ingenuousness conveyed in the oral text fragment: as a reader, you are face to face with the character in his entire candor. It is just so true.

Great contest. Perhaps my head can produce something for this round XD

Sort:  

Yes, it is really an art to put the reader into the mind of the character. I have not read the story you mentioned. It sounds terribly sad.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34