The Steemit Christmas Book Challenge - Recommend a Favorite to the communitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

The Prophet.jpg
Image credit amazon.com

Christmas may be over but it's not forgotten and the madness continues with New Year's eve preparations all around the globe.
Those of us who are known as bookworms, become totally oblivious to the hustle and bustle when we find that special book that grips us from the first page!

The super talented author @honeydue initiated The Steemit Book Challenge - Recommend a Favorite to the community, and I in turn was challenged by another amazing author & great Steemian, @ericvancewalton.

My house is filled with books and magazines, from fiction to non-fiction, thrillers, biographies, conspiracy theories, self-help, recipe books and occasionally even the gossip magazines! However, I hate newspapers as they never feature any good news; only bad news sells newspapers not so!
IMG_20181229_165001.jpg
My bedside pedestal always has a pile of books and magazines as I find more and more stuff to read - I cleared up recently so mostly magazines are left and the pile is smaller than normal!
IMG_20181229_164940.jpg
Books takes us to places beyond our imagination, opens our mind up to stuff we've never heard of and gives us knowledge on any subject under the sun.
I used to live in the local library as a young schoolgirl, could not get enough of reading, would read well into the early hours of the morning when the whole house was asleep.
IMG_20181221_081341.jpg

Before I recommend a very special book to the community, I will tell you the story behind my very first cookery book - Flop Proof Baking.
IMG_20181229_164741.jpg
I was working as a learner draughtswoman for a firm of land surveyors and wanted to impress my work colleagues with a home-baked cake, but I was also learning that trade and not afraid to experiment. So I made a Coconut Cake, but being nutty about Coconut, I doubled up on that one ingredient. Of course the cake was as hard as a rock and my boss who had a wicked sense of humour came to stand in front of me, bit into his saucer and said he was not sure if he was taking a bite of the saucer or the cake! We had such a good laugh when his wife gave me the Flop-proof Baking recipe book for my kitchen tea, as it was known back then - bridal shower today or is that outdated too?

So Christmas has passed and I do not believe my recommendation is too late, as many of us received gift vouchers. All the book worms will be browsing the book stores for that special book.
We all know it's much easier shopping online and great when books that are unobtainable in the book stores are found online, but which book lover can resist walking into a book store and seeing as well as smelling brand new books?
I certainly cannot resist that!
Oh I love my Kindle as it's great for travelling, but nothing beats the feel of that book in my hand and having to resist the temptation of peeking what's on the next page!
We all have our favorite bookmarks, and this is one given by a special friend.
IMG_20181230_173526.jpg

But I've really digressed here, so will get back to the book that had a huge impact on my early life and that is a book of poetry prose on Life called The Prophet by the Lebanese-American author Kahlil Gibran.
I lent this book to a friend years ago and it never returned, but I bought a copy translated into Afrikaans, which is my mother tongue, many many moons ago.
IMG_20181230_111249.jpg

I will share just a couple of lessons I learnt in this beautifully written book where the wise author writes on many aspects of life.

When you meet the love of your life, grab that love with both arms but allow each other to grow as individuals.
Kahlil Gibran on Love

When love beckons to you, follow him,
Though his ways are hard and steep...

Love gives naught but itself and takes naught but from itself.
Love possesses not nor would it be possessed;
For love is sufficient unto love...

To wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving;
To rest at the noon hour and meditate love's ecstasy;
To return home at eventide with gratitude;
And then to sleep with a prayer for the beloved in your heart and a song of praise upon your lips.

Lessons on marriage - that it's important that husbands and wives respect each other's space as that is what will ultimately bring you closer.
Kahlil Gibran on Marriage

But let there be spaces in your togetherness,
And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.

To know that although I carried my children for nine months, they do not belong to me and that I must allow them to become their own persons.
Children Gibran.jpg
Image credit KatSandogs.com
Kahlil Gibran On Children

Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life's longing for itself.
They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
For they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow,
which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them,
but seek not to make them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children
as living arrows are sent forth.
The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite,
and He bends you with His might
that His arrows may go swift and far.
Let your bending in the archer's hand be for gladness;
For even as He loves the arrow that flies,
so He loves also the bow that is stable.

Kahlil Gibran writes on many other aspects of life and I'm sure this has helped many a person over the years.

Words can weave magic in one's heart, and this is what @honeydue said in her post......

Now, let's keep this going.

Tell us why you love your favorite book.

Let that be your gift to the Steemit community this Christmas.

A book can change lives. A book can save lives.

Words are immensely powerful, so who knows what may happen? Someone might be so touched by your recommendation that they quit their jobs and move away, start a new life altogether. It could be an eye-opener. It could make them fall in love with life all over again. It could change everything.

I'm sure you know such a book, that you have one book that completely changed the way you view things. Or maybe just a book you really really like.

Write about it.

So even though Christmas is over, I believe we can continue this challenge and tell the community about that one special book that had an impact on our lives.

I nominate the following people, but please feel free to join even if your name is not here: @birdsinparadise, @jusipassetti, @enchantedspirit, @goldendawne, @bigtom13, @princessmewmew, @joanstewart, @zen-art

Qurator lizelle.png

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Ooooh, I love this! The book you shared is beautiful, love the advice about children, soooooo true my friend! Great challenge :) I'm reading a new book right now!

I hope to see yours if you take up the challenge ;)
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and friendship this year, I certainly treasure it.
Wishing you & yours a fabulous 2019!

You may have taken my favorite! I too was given a copy of the Prophet as a young man and I gave it away some time later. Now I always have two copies on hand because I've given away at least 20 copies. I think it's that important.

I read mostly on my Kindle today. I can get the book I want instantly and it's easy carry on my motorcycle. But some like the Prophet need to be paper...

I'll accept the challenge. Thanks Lizelle.

Ah I look forward to that @bigtom13!
It certainly is a book full of wisdom, what a great idea to give that as a gift! You're right, it's that important!
Thank you so very much for your thoughtful feedback all of the time, wishing you a fabulous 2019!

A great post here Lady Lizelle and reading is an absolute and essential aid to open anyone's mind. I read boxes full of books in my time, but since my theology adventure I am now in small group management literature. Cannot be shared here! All blessings to you guys for 2019.

Thank you for your good wishes and for responding @papilloncharity, enjoy your new adventures!

What a fantastic post! I've seen this book on the shelves several times and have always been intrigued by it. It's now on my reading list for 2019. I have about six books going at the same time right now (most are on screenwriting) but a slot will open up soon. : ) Happy New Year to you!

Oh you would really enjoy this book @ericvancewalton!
I also read multiple books at the same time;);)

I just bought a copy today! I can't wait to read it.

I'm sure you'll enjoy it and find much inspiration!
@enchantedspirit pointed out that sadly Gibran drank himself to death, so I found a fascinating bit of a bio
But I suggest you read the book first!

What a beautiful book. And what a sad and terrible mess surrounding it. Fascinating article in your link, indeed.

Very apt description :(

Thanks so sad, @lizelle! I won't read the bio until I read the book though, it's supposed to be here tomorrow.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 357 (12/31/18)

love your post. I had words out of this very book read at my husband and my wedding. Only a couple of sentences... I believe this to be one

And the oak tree and the cypress
grow not in each other’s shadow.

coconut cake is marvelous. :)

That is such a profound statement, I was going to use it in my post, love it!
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback @rebeccabe, wishing you a fabulous 2019!

Thank you I took a peak at your book, would love to hear about it in a post, sounds really good!

Thank you, I've a lot of interviews about the book further down on my posts. :) Please check it out and buy a copy if you're interested in learning about how I see the future and the importance of this entire space.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72