Ten random things about me: nothing to see here, folks!

in #challenge6 years ago

It has been a few weeks since the dear @jasonbu invited me to participate in the Ten Random Things challenge. A combination of being wacky crazy busy and being a fairly private person have prevented me from getting ‘er done. But here are my 10 random things, in no particular order.

Thing 1: I don’t like talking about myself


Ask me to do the dishes, rake the yard, clean up dog poop, take a sharp poke in the eye. Anything. I’d rather not talk about me, thank you very much. Oh, I have nothing to hide. I am not sure I can explain it. Perhaps I believe in my heart that I have nothing to show.

Thing 2: I am a peacekeeper

World peace
Source: Pixabay

I try to do my little part to create peace in the world. Whenever confrontation happens, I provide the damper, the levity, the calming words, or whatever seems necessary. Sometimes it’s just a warm smile and the words, “It’s okay.”

And very often — particularly on social media and on Steemit — I just walk away. I simply don’t believe in going head-to-head with others. It is not my way, and I believe that I can make more of a difference in the world by remaining calm and level-headed. While there is no excuse for bad behavior, and I have no qualms about telling someone they're out of line, I also believe that people who are being jerks are often dealing with their own personal pain, and I have no need to engage with them confrontationally or contribute to the damage.

Thing 3: I have three kids from two pregnancies

Jayna and the kids
Jayna and the kids, 2004

Yes, that means two of them are twins. This is a 14-year old picture, but it's one of my favorites of me and my children.

They are nearly all grown up now. My oldest daughter is graduating from the University of Minnesota at the end of this school year, and the twins are graduating from high school. It’s a big year. My family is the light of my life. I hope as my kids grow up and go out on their own, they will stay near. But I will support them in whatever choices they make. (Or at least that is what I tell myself.)

Thing 4: My superpower is the ability to do more than seems humanly possible


See, this is why I don’t like talking about myself. It all sounds like bragging. I have had people tell me that they feel tired just hearing about all the things I do. Sorry/not sorry!
Busy work space
Source: Pixabay

I work 50 to 60 hours a week in my full-time job (high tech marketing), keep a household containing a family of five and an insane menagerie of pets somewhat tidy and organized, volunteer my time, attempt to exercise fairly regularly, read at least two books a month and participate in two book clubs as well as a women’s group (which includes my sister, the lovely @ducksaplenty) in which we do home projects, and a Friday night game night group. I also write fiction, participate in several writing groups, and run a weekly 50-word writing challenge (#fiftywords).

This weekend was a prime example. Friday night I went to the high school football game with my husband and parent friends. Our daughters work on the sidelines. They were honored as senior students for their hours of service, and we got to parade across the football field with them. I also had house guests staying with us, I volunteered at a fundraising gala Saturday night for an organization called Matter), I helped another writer with a story, and wrote a short story to submit to a literary writing contest. I’m also writing this post and my 50-word short story post.

Life is a zoo, at times, but I wouldn’t trade this craziness for anything.

Thing 5: I believe reading and writing enable us to live multiple lives

Books to the sky

If you’ve stuck with me this far, thank you! Here’s what I mean by this. Since I was a young girl, I’ve felt that life is too short, a belief that perhaps traces back to a tragic death in our extended family when I was very young. This belief has affected my life in multiple ways (see Thing 4), but in my adult life I have found calm through reading books and writing stories. In reality, I know I can only live this one life. But through literature and writing, I believe I can live many.

Now that the kids are mostly grown up, I am devoting more time to writing, with the hope that I will finally break into mainstream publishing.

Thing 6: I used to be a distance cyclist

Cycling
Not my legs; image by skeeze, Pixabay

I have had a lifelong love of bike riding. As a teen and young adult, it was my therapy. Later, during my years in Silicon Valley, I was in a relationship with an avid cyclist who encouraged (pushed) me to work harder at it. We did some week-long mountain biking treks with all of our food and supplies attached to our bikes. We regularly rode 50 to 75 mile rides, and to prepare for our longest stints, we did 100 to 120-mile training rides. Over several years, we rode three double centuries (200 miles in a day).

Thing 7: I love to travel


I believe travel challenges us to expand our minds, and relinquish our myopic self-serving tendencies. It reminds us that we are part of something greater. I’ve done some of my best thinking and writing while in a car, or on a train or plane.
Traveling in Madrid
Madrid, 2016

Hollywood sign
Hollywood, 2014

My kids love to travel too, and have all gone on many trips with our family as well as with student groups and friends. We instilled in them a love of travel from an early age.

I grew up in a family with little means, but we loved to take long road trips. I never got on a plane until college, when I went on an overseas trip for six months to Greece. The following year I took a student trip to Mexico. The year after that I took a cross-country trip with a group of people from Oregon to southern California, to New York to Florida where we sailed to the Bahamas, then drove north again where I said goodbye in Washington D.C. It was epic. I’ve since taken trips to Italy and to Spain, among many domestic trips.

I recently won a ticket to Steemfest (with this short story), and will be traveling next month to Krakow. I will be attending a technical conference the following week in Munich, and I was able to stitch the two trips together, so it will be another epic journey. I’m so excited!

Thing 8: I'm a distant relative of a famous guy

Zebulon Pike
Zebulon Pike - source: Wikimedia Commons

Evidently, I'm related to Zebulon Pike, an explorer who traveled extensively here in Minnesota and long ago owned the land that is now known as St. Anthony Main in Minneapolis. Zebulon was also the founder of Pike’s Peak in Colorado. My maiden name is Pike. My father always said that Zebulon was his great-great-great uncle, and that he was my great-great-great-great uncle. I am now in the process of trying to trace this history and connect the dots, via Ancestry.com. It is proving to be more difficult and time-consuming than I expected.

Thing 8 ½ is that the Pike name is dying out on my family line. My father was the only boy in a family of 5 children. He also had five children and only one son (my brother) as well as my three sisters and myself. My brother, now in his 60s, never married or sired children. So the Pike name in this line is done. I plan to trace other family lines through my father’s father on Ancestry.com.

Thing 9: I love baseball and softball


Maybe it’s because my kids have always played. I’ve spent hundreds of hours watching their games while swaddled in blankets in inclement weather, on pleasant summer evenings under the lights, in extreme heat, and with thunderheads amassing on the horizon. No matter, I love to be in the bleachers, rooting for my team, thrilled at monster hits and great plays. But I also love professional baseball, and enjoy the occasional Minnesota Twins game.

Baseball player

Softball player

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Watching baseball
One of many near-death baseball watching experiences.

Thing 10: My husband is my rock

Jayna and Steve

I’m not sure where I’d be in my life right now without this guy. As we traverse this life journey, we come to so many forks in the road, and it’s not easy to make the right choices. I left an abusive relationship because I met Steve and he was so solid and stable and kind, and it gave me hope that life could be more than just an existence that we trod through to get to some unknown end. I’ve had a lot of recovery to do over the years from events and relationships of the past. He has stuck by me through it all, and has been an amazing dad to boot. I really lucked out. Thank you, Fate. Or the gods of love and happenstance. Or the Universe. Or the Supreme Being. I suppose thing 10 ½ is that I am spiritual and yet agnostic.

Hey, thanks for reading. Why do we do these things? Perhaps it is just as much about looking through a lens of discovery about ourselves, as it is about sharing something with the rest of the world.

Oh! And my nominations for those who should take up the torch and carry it forth in this fun challenge are @negativer and @tanglebranch.

Much love,

Animated signature



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2018/10/14/ten-random-things-about-me-nothing-to-see-here-folks/

Sort:  

nice work @jayna ... going be interesting to see what @negativer and @tanglebranch come up with

Ha! There you go. Great post. I really like learning about folks that I interact with... I don't like to pry so finding out these things as small anycdotes is great. There's often a little bit in there that will show each of us that we have commonalities and strengthen our digital bonds...

And I totally agree... Reading allows me to leave and experience others world's, other times and express other personalities.

Looks like we are in a similar chapter of life.. two of mine are in university and the third is just hitting high school.

Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for the encouragement, @jasonbu! It is indeed a fun discovery method. I didn’t mention it, but I was also a Scout. I believe in scouting as a way to learn and grow and connect with the world in positive ways, and to learn the value of trying new things, exploring nature, and giving back. I was a scout leader for over a decade, and I suppose in my heart I will always be a Girl Scout. Cheers!

Hi, Jayna,

So nice to learn some more about you and increase my appreciation.

I see we share peacekeeping efforts in common.

Becoming clearly aware that you are in high-tech marketing leads me to wonder out loud if there might be something I have that you might be willing to barter for in exchange for some marketing guidance? Basically, I suck at marketing but excel at product and process development, and consequently I have a spectacular product and enterprise that is languishing due to my lack in that area.

"I suppose thing 10 ½ is that I am spiritual and yet agnostic."

Putting that together with your number 5, I would like to tender the following standing offer:

I think you've seen enough of my writing to be aware that I believe conclusively that Jesus is the Creator/God of all we see and experience in this universe. My offer is simply that, should you ever wish to examine the possibility that may be true, and that you may not be limited to this one life, I am available to you for any discussion on the matter. ;)

As for myself, as a teen I was tremendously frustrated and became depressed when I concluded that it would not be possible for me to do all the things I wanted to do in a single lifetime. Since coming to the understanding that Jesus has granted me a literal, physical, and never-ending life in a perfected universe, I am much more at peace. Doesn't mean I don't continue to strive for the best now; just that I can do it unambiguously and without distraction. ;)

Thanks for sharing your life with us! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Hi @creatr. Thanks so much for your very nice response. It's good to know a few people actually read my long post. :-)

I am happy to chat about marketing. I'm not sure what I can offer but it never hurts to have a conversation. What Discord channels do you hang out on?

Thank you for the offer about religion as well. I'm quite at peace with my thoughts and perspective on this. I wasn't always. I grew up in a very religious family (and my father was a lay minister), so I have had plenty of exposure to all of the ideas. Today, there are a few things I will not discuss, at all, and one of them is religion. But thank you again for the offer!

Thanks, Jayna,

I'm sure we'll continue our discourse, and thanks for your kind offer of some marketing chat. And I understand and appreciate your position on religion. And the offer remains open, regardless. :D

I avoid Discord, but use it at need. Gotta go sing right now, but I'll be back to talk later. ;)

Brilliant post.
It leaves me wondering what 10 facts I would consider to represent the sum of who I am.
Not an easy task I'm sure. Definitely just as much a self discovery / reflection as it is a desire to share.
Thank you for sharing.

Thank you, @girlbeforemirror! Well, the thing that enabled me to write this (which may possibly help you) is that I did not try to sum up myself, but instead just thought up 10 random things. 😊

It's funny how you find similarities in others explanations of themselves.

I don’t like talking about myself

Yup. It does seem like bragging. This explains why I am so bad at interviews. "Please brag about how good you are for this job without sounding like you're bragging about yourself at how good you would be at this job."

I try to do my little part to create peace in the world.

Absolutely

I believe travel challenges us to expand our minds, and relinquish our myopic self-serving tendencies.

No doubt about it

I love baseball and softball

My favorites as well. Have my last double header of softball this Thursday. It's gonna be fun, but sad to have to be done with it for the year.

My husband is my rock

Yup, but my wife.

I'll leave the having 3 kids and cycling all up to you :)

Nice to learn more about you. Enjoy the weather today! It's beautiful outside.

Thanks for reading and commenting, @intothewild. Great to hear from you. Yes, the weather has been stunning!

Hello @jayna, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Wow!! Didn't know you had made all these achievements, even leading #fiftywords looks like a big work to me. I struggle being on steemit & facebook at the same day.

I loved the part that you're distantly related to someone this important in the history. The way you wrote it, seems like you've done a big research.

Thanks so much, @ahmadmanga. Oh, I think everyone is much more complex than they might seem at first! :-)

Well I’m so glad that you took the time to tell us more about yourself. You have a beautiful family and I know that you are very proud of their accomplishments. What I would like to know is where do you find all of that energy to keep up with your schedule? From looking at your picture I could tell that you are a kind person but the bicycling surprise to me. Thanks for sharing.

Ha ha, thanks @pyemoney. Yes, I have tremendous energy. I always have. And I don't need as much sleep as most people. That's one of my secrets to doing more. The other one is finding short cuts and more efficient ways to do things. For example, I don't have time to read, but I have actually read three books this month by listening to them on Audible. I hope that doesn't make it sound like I'm running around like crazy! It's funny. I do a lot, but I'm actually a really calm person. :-)

Hello @jayna... I loved learning these things about you. Thank you for sharing them :)

Thank you very much, @jrb450! I always appreciate it if anyone reads through one of my long posts!

So nice! Thanks for sharing :)

Thanks, @nobyeni! So great to hear from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25