You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Go Beyond" Challenge #2 - with @evecab

in #challenge6 years ago

Hi @futurethinker and @evecab, thanks for this opportunity and act of good leader you are!

What a fantastic challenge to express how far you've come to defeat your fear and attain your goal....

I finished my secondary school at a very tender age, but couldn't proceed further due to lack of fund from my parents, but it has always been my dream to further my education but the lack of fund restricted me at this point.

I watched most of my mates gaining admission into the university the year we graduated and several years after, it was so painful that i wasn't born with a silver spoon, so i had to settle for what's within my parents reach.

I started a vocational training as barber as i believe that should help me in getting some money to assist myself in pushing my education forward. This all started well until i graduated from my training and i found out that things weren't so easy as i pictured from the onset.

Worked for some big guys in the business for some years and i got to found out that the money am getting from this can only sustain my daily needs and i found it so difficult to save for my dream which is to further my education.

However, God willing, i met a customer at one of the barbing shop i worked which i start working for technically as housemaid, did this for some years until he finally get me an office assistance job on the Island, Lagos.

With this job, i knew i finally got the chance to save enough to further my education, though i was earning 25,000 per month but this was so much for me as this was the first time i will be earning that big.

I worked for four years with them and was able ti save enough, obtain jamb form and thankfully passed and the same year obtain post utme form (an exam taken for admission seekers in a university). Successfully, i passed this and was offered admission in the university of Ilorin to study marketing.

This whole goal took me nothing less than eight years to achieve. I could remember the day i got the admission message on my phone, it was a the first Friday of December and honestly i almost shed tears as a result of over excitement. Right now, am in my third year in school.

NB : No matter how long, do not give up on your drean

Sort:  

Never give up! Thank you for sharing this bro.

Thanks for sharing your story! Definitely never give up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51