You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steemit Christmas Book Challenge - recommend a favorite to the Steem community!

in #challenge6 years ago

My favorite book is The Neverending Story. When I was a kid, it was escapism. The kid in the book, well, no spoilers. But as an adult, it's that and so much more. Juicy ideas to flop around in your head. It's a lot of "our creativity can save us or curse us" and I leave it wanting to think more deeply about everything I experience.

Also, I just finished reading Maniac McGee to kids. And they cried with me for just a hero of a kid that we identify with and should emulate. It's true about people, how they all love and want love. Oh gosh, I'm tearing up again thinking about the bad kids and their love for Maniac. We all crave stability, and it's a cruel society that keeps it from us.

The book is not revolutionary, but it inspires me to take revolutionary stances.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I have not read either, though The Neverending Story has been on my to-read list for quite some time! :) These are some excellent recommendations right there.
Inspiration can come from the strangest of places and I love that you told me what you feel about the stories - it's exactly the sort of thing I wanted. Thank you so much @improv for participating <3
I will get to these books as soon as I can! Really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51