You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New 50-word short story challenge and announcement

in #challenge6 years ago

Oh, that is too good!

Standing Ovation: A play in three acts, by @henry-gant

Would never have thought that, too! Gave me a bright smile!
Indeed, fifty dollars worth.

First time ever I participated just the other day in a contest with 500 words. And had the realization I always somehow end up with:

total freedom gives you no borders and limits your discipline.
total restriction kills your creativity and lets you feel chained.

Your writers are really doing it here on the blockchain. Never saw a more engaged folk online.

Sort:  

We do have fun! The various communities, including #fiftywords, have devoted followers and participants.

... total restriction kills your creativity....

Agreed. I hope we are not coming off that way! I think I can honestly say that we work within a word limit to support creativity, since you must be quite creative and resourceful to write a whole story in 50 words. 😊

No, you are not coming off that way. The 50 words attempt is challenging and indeed "forces" one into considering the essence of a message. I'd say all limitations are a good method for practicing - getting milage so to speak - in order to deliver a later work which is longer, more detailed and complex. The mind of a writer is an artists mind and when writing fiction one has to be skilled as all other artists. No practice, no success.
I already noticed some progress from my beginning here with blogging and where I stand now. Not so much with writing fiction (in which I am far from being good) but also in thinking.

Yes, "resourceful" puts it really well :-)

Thanks for the additional information. I love hearing people’s views on writing methods. Yes, I think you’re right that writing within limits like 50 words is practice for writing longer, more complex works. It’s a great way to hone your skills!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66