Hey Stackers, i'm new!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

media-20180121 (6).jpg

I'm taking my new hobby a little more seriously, and I started following several of you on Steemit to increase my knowledge and learn more about numismatics.

I would like to participate in the #steemsilvergold community, so here is my first contribution. Hopefully I'll be able to add more posts soon.

The pics below are of what I have acquired so far (passively) over the past few years, just some coins I've found or that wound up in my change, a few different 1oz pieces I received as gifts, and also a $10.00 U.S. gold certificate from 1928. Except for the 1oz coins, everything else is in poor, well-circulated condition.

It's not much of a collection yet, but I gotta start somewhere.

media-20180121.jpg
1928 U.S. ten dollar gold certificate

media-20180121 (3).jpg
2000 U.S. 1oz one dollar

media-20180121 (1).jpg
media-20180121 (2).jpg
2011 Maple Leaf five dollar 1oz

media-20180121 (4).jpg
(two) 1988 shuttle Discovery five dollar 1oz
(Spoiler alert: these may not be real silver?)

media-20180121 (5).jpg Various U.S. Coins
1918 Mercury dime, 1888 Barber Liberty Head dime, 1919 Mercury dime
1941 Mercury dime, (unknown year) Standing Liberty quarter, 1941 Mercury dime
1944 Walking Liberty half-dollar, 1917 Walking Liberty half-dollar

I want to start adding 1oz and 2oz "interesting looking" silver rounds to my collection
and after visiting @phelimint's website, http://www.phelimint.com,
I'm excited to start there soon.
Please reply below if you want to share anywhere else I should be looking for silver online.

I am already looking into getting my hands on a 2017 Steemit round soon,
and I'm also planning on getting a few of the 2018s when they are ready.

I'm also into collecting virtual coins too.
So anytime I can trade some of my crypto for physical coins,
that would be kind of a cool bonus!

See you around!

(Disclaimer: I cannot guarantee post quality, but I can pledge 100% originality.)
Copyright 2018
all image sources: me, with potato.
c.e

Sort:  

Pretty awesome! 😁👊. Welcome to steemit!

That is some nice shiny Cyber! I love the image source...you with a potato ☺

Nice start to stackin' @cyber.explorer! Welcome to the steemsilvergold discussions!

Nice collection. The Barber is 1888 you accidently put 1988 as the year.

Thank you, and thanks for catching that!
I fixed it.

No worries. I'm the typo king lol. Welcome to the steemit family b.t.w. I'll give a follow to see how your stack grows. I'm a jeweler so I mostly stack scraps.

Welcome man, You've come to the right place, so many great and knowledgeable members here on steemsilvergold!

Thanks, I agree. Whenever I'm scrolling through Steemit and a random post catches my eye, it's usually something that brings me into steemsilvergold for some reason... And then I spend lots of time here reading the older posts too. Good stuff!

Very Nice Start, the 1944 half looks pretty nice, prolly a numi on some level. If all of those are real silver, you have ~ 5.25 ozT right there. I never did try for numis or overpriced collectibles but I ended up with quite a bit of it all the same. Antique shops, 2nd hand stores and some coin shops will make you good deals on fair to good coins to make monthly sales or goals. I got a lot of otherwise 'nice' ASE's that were scratched on one or both sides, by a jealous "EX" or naughty child, obtained them for SPOT.
You have one, here:
ASE is American Silver Eagle, it's pretty much my staple coin ;) I started out with 124 ASE's in late 2009, and as soon as I took delivery, the price dropped like $2 ozT!!! Guess what I did. Bought MORE SILVER!!!
I probably grabbed almost twice as much as my first haul, over time. Set a stacking budget, buy some every payday if possible, or every other, but buy regularly. The price moves are so small of late that just buying regularly will beat trying to buy the dips. If you cannot get enough cash in 1 or 2 paychecks, buy monthly. But buying regularly (DCA) beats trying to time the markets by a good margin, most likely. Even a silver dime here and there beats not buying any silver at all! Heck, I ran coin faucets for months, got millions of Litoshi saved up and once the prices spiked, it was worth nearly $100 all told that I had made. maybe 7 months worth but it was wrth the time, twice a day, morning and night. So micro-stacking really adds up in any event.

Thanks, that's a lot of good information.
I never really thought that much about silver as an investment before, or even as a store of wealth. The coins I have just happened to be stuff I found in my pockets mixed in with change, or given to me by relitives at Christmas, etc... Now I want to collect lots of shinny rounds and maybe add some larger oz bars over time. I'm thinking maybe just a regular once-a-month order of an ounce or two, and by this time next year i'll have accumulated a dozen pieces at least... That's like only one or two large pizzas a month! And then maybe double that for some of the more artistic coins.
So, gain silver, lose weight.
Thank you. I finally think I have my new year's resolution figured out now.

LOL! Glad I could help, killing 2 birds w/one stone :D

Don't be like the guy that bought 2 pizzas and stix, etc with 10,000 btc in 2010 ;)

Congratulations @cyber.explorer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

Congratulations @cyber.explorer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62