VotePower Drainage - Still Feeling Weird after HF19 - Why I'll start voting via chainbb

in #chainbb7 years ago (edited)

Votingpower keeps going down
it's never going to go back up if I continue like this
Vote Power Draining

Enough Complaints

Ok, we've had enough of the post hardfork whims about voting habits.

I still refuse to change my habits and I wont become stingy with my upvotes. I will upvote anything that engages me and any comment exchange that's respectful should be appreciated.

But it does feel silly to reward a funny comment just as strongly as really engaging content.

For as long as @timcliff's Vote Slider Threshold Update to 125 SP or anything of that sort doesn't get implemented on steemit I'll have to resort to a workaround:

Here's The Solution

I'll start casting my votes via beta.chainbb.com.

Remember, the absence of a vote-power adjustment slider while you own less than 1 MVest (~480SP) is not due to the nature of the steem blockchain, but only a restriction of the interface on steemit.com in particular.

Chainbb.com does not come with such restrictions and offers anyone the ability to adjust their voting power:

chainbb_votepower.jpg

I do like browsing and posting on steemit.com. I've gotten used to it here and it's a great experience. I will stay on steemit.com

Chainbb is different. @jesta is creating a great forum-like experience for the steem blockchain over there and in it's own usecase this will be awesome, it's just not my cup of tea for browsing.

Easy as 1, 2, 3, 4

So step by step:

  • Log in at https://beta.chainbb.com
    (all you need is your username and posting key)

  • copy the url for the content you like to upvote on steemit

  • replace https://steemit.com with https://beta.chainbb.com
    or really what you do is you only copy the part after steemit.com and paste that in after chainbb.com... but I think you get what I am trying to say and it's kind of weird to explain it like this

  • you can now cast a vote with a percentage of your own choice

Credit where Credit is due

I did not come up with this myself!

It was @twinner who posted about this trick in Operation Schieberegler.

He also went all the way and made screenshots explaining every step in this workaround for minnows. So if my short explanation above wasn't making sense... just go to his post and it will all become clear to you ;)

Now Let The Votes Flow

From now on I'll be able to appreciating all the comments and funny little things with a kind upvote while still recharging some voting power... just to drop that 100% power vote with full impact when something really amazing pops up in my feed!

It will be a bit cumbersome... but hey... only ~200SP to go before I get that slider on steemit

update one hour later: Ok... my habits are strong and it's too easy to keep clicking upvotes on steemit.com.
I've gone all the way now and have hidden the upvote buttons on steemit via custom css and the stylish browser extension. From now on i'm forcing myself to vote via chainbb

update a few hours in: Now this isnt going too well. Most recent conversations are not available on chainBB?! weird!


follow @fraenk

... it's free!

🖖
steem-on and prosper

Sort:  

Tnx for this info, tried it on a post and it worked, will see if it works on all recent conversations. Looking forward to being able to upvote most posts I want to now again, with a few cents thrown in.

yep... works like a charm

well... sometimes chainBB is a few minutes behind on the blockchain, but @jesta is taking good care of it and 99% it just works immediately.

I really need to explore chainbb.

tbh... i find it very clumsy to use, but it's liberating to have access to the vote power adjustments

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fraenk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66492.65
ETH 3309.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72