The Power of the PennysteemCreated with Sketch.

macro-387110_640.jpg

It may be psychological or just a feeling of a minor accomplishment, but my voting strength is now worth a whole penny!

Starting out on steemit with no investment in the platform can be slightly demoralizing. You want to get out there and curate some blogs and upvote your newly minted friends, yet you know the reward you're bestowing will not move the needle one bit.

I had been powering up all rewards that I received. I had a few posts that were monetarily successful, yet I had no visible authority in the way I voted. Humans need instant gratification sometimes. What's less gratifying then trying to give something to someone yet there is no evidence that the gift ever existed.

After making a modest investment into Steem Power, I now command the authority of a full penny.

It may be silly on my part, but having a visceral effect on the curation process does affect self-esteem in a small way. It always felt mildly depressing to upvote a comment, that had no votes, and leave them with one vote and a big, fat zero in the dollar value counter.

Those days are behind me. Steem On!

Image source: pixabay.com


Bonnie's 35th Birthday (1).png

Sort:  

Hahahaha. I have been. I may be out of bullets. I'll give it one last try.

Boom! It worked again.

Racks on Racks on Racks

I cant wait until we can get paper steem wallets so we can print out steem like they print bitcoin wallets onto pieces of paper and its like cash, i wanna have that paper steem cash too!

Is that in the pipeline?

Woohooo!!! I know exactly how you felt LOL. That's where I am now. I would so love to see the needle move, and I'm sure it will in time. For now I will leave you with my fractional vote and wish you speed on your journey to leaving your TWO cents worth :)

See, I did it again! What an excellent comment. Thanks for reading.

everything counts in large amounts :)

I love hearing stories like from a car dealer I know. Had to accept $30K in $5 bills. The guy had saved every $5 bill that crossed his path.

How do you determine how much your votes are worth?

I don't at this point. I think the magic number is having 480 steempower. At that point you are given a sliding scale to determine what percentage of a vote you wish to give.

At this point I can give a penny until I've voted about 50x in a day. It degrades my power at that point to less than a penny.

So if you're a whale with $1M worth of steempower, your full strength vote may be worth $20, they can scale it down to 10% and vote 500 times in a day, giving out $2 each time.

That's pretty cool. Looks like I've got a long ways to go!

Thanks for reading. Keep interacting and creating and it will all work out. SteemOn!

yes my votes got up to almost 2 pennies now! I vote so much in the last 24 hours each of my votes are down to less than 10 percent lol ive been power using steemit teh last few days to make up for my fear of mising out!! im trying to make alot of friends, an chec out as many posts as i can, upvte good posts before they reallly blow up to get on the curation!

and i always comment to my whale friends make sure they know my new noob friends i just singed up like @monkimo and @silverbit and @higomex ! please chec them out they need followers ! and will post high quality!

You're doing a great job. You went right past me. That's cool. SteemOn!

Everything starts with the very first, little step. Looks like I got much much more long way to go...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62323.35
ETH 2639.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56