You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memorial Day; A Good Day to discuss the difference between Soldiers, Warriors, and Thugs

in #chainbb-general7 years ago

First off, thank you for your service sir. I may be born and raised in the Philippines but I am always thankful for US veterans because of two reasons- first is the close ties between your country and mine and the assistance received in many different time in history, the most significant one is US intervention aiding the end of the 300plus years of Spanish colonization in our country. Secondly, we have friends and family who now share the same citizenship as yours, mainly because we live near a US-airforce base and intermarriages started the chain of smooth immigration of those wanting to fulfill their American dreams.

Appreciate your insights on this, and I agree that men in uniform serves to uphold and fight for the idealism that is rooting from their countries culture. Not an easy thing to do, as this requires a high level of commitment and passion to serve.

A great many nations, soldiers and warriors fight, all are in the belief of doing it for the greater good.

If we are to dream of a perfect world where there is world peace, i think it should start with the discussion, understanding and respecting the cultural differences of each.

Sort:  

One of the worst legacies that oblahblah left behind was the destruction of the the Philippines-America relationship.

I have a bit of bias in that statement. I was stationed at Subic Bay for a year, and I love the PI. Some of the prettiest ladies in the world.

that men in uniform serves to uphold and fight for the idealism that is rooting from their countries culture

I missed on this...there are LOTS of different reason for men to join up; idealism and sense of duty would be related to what I talked about in the post.

What I didn't add were they guys that join up as a job opportunity or adventure-seekers, etc.

The thing is a lot of folks like this get accultured to the military thought ;>

Thanks for the comment!

guys that join up as a job opportunity or adventure-seekers >> i suppose they wouldn't last , unless as you've said they get accultured to the military thought.

We live near a freeport zone, and with all due respect, despite the many good points you've discussed in your article, to this is where I agree most:

.............. I love the PI. Some of the prettiest ladies in the world.

Hahaha.

don't worry, I'm not flirting

The plane trip is too far ;>

Waaah! I didn't think you were, and I am not too.

no? you're not?...this old man is heartbroken

[insert sad smiley here]

teasing isn't flirting ;>

"this old man is heartbroken"

Now I feel guilty. Nah haha. Again a big thank you from this young lady =^_^=

de nada and good night ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.34
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66