Sort:  

I agree with that 95%, but let me clarify something

it's weeding out those that aren't producing for ME; and I don't mean people that are not upvoting, resteeming, or commenting

I'm talking about people whose contributions spur ME to add to the platform with an upvote, a comment , a resteem, or even a post of my own from their disucussion

I don't think we should be following/unfollowing as a tit for tat (even though I have done that!)

I have unfollowed quite a few folks so far today that are incredible producers for the community, but that I don't spend a lot of time reacting to their stuff myself

Oh, I agree entirely... which is why I almost inevitably end up with 2x (or more) people following me than I follow.

But then I'm here because I enjoy social blogging, and really dig the idea of building community. The whole "mutual circle of backscratching for pennies" thing is just not my scene. No, wait... it outright annoys me. I think it makes more sense to "fiercely supportive" of the kind of content we each feel enhances the community.

I followed pretty willy nilly for a while; I followed a lot of new Steemers b/c I thought it was supportive of the platform as a whole.. I also followed everyone that followed me.

It seems to have slowed down my own level of interaction, tho (surprising me)

Hell this whole process on my part started with a post @shayne made yesterday about the following process here on Steemit...made me think

If you vote for me I'll vot for you, have you seen my last post?🤑😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42