You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memorial Day; A Good Day to discuss the difference between Soldiers, Warriors, and Thugs

in #chainbb-general7 years ago (edited)

I have loved military men and looking into their eyes as they describe combat is enough for me to understand that humanity has no place in these kind of exchanges. We should do everything in our power to disassociate the idea of honor from war. If you want to serve your country, you can become a teacher or help build roads. I hope you don't take offense to this, I'm not speaking about the character of those involved or much less calling them thugs but voicing some options for those with the drive to help others. I know many people end up in the military after some ideal, I know most people don't want to hurt others, but it's very important for me to say this because I don't ever want to look into the eyes of one of these people and see such pain again.

Sort:  

No, no offense.

I just don't think it's realistic.

It reflects a cognitive bias called projection bias, in which we assume that most people think just like us.

You seem like a caring, nice person, and you assume that everybody is like that.

Some people are scumbags who can only help this world by leaving it. It really doesn't matter what kind of socialization is put in place to "stop" this; it is natural in those people. Again, like the "natural born killers", you can increase the number of scumbags through socialization (eg. Detroit), but you can't go beneath the floor limit.

Soldiers and police are the answer to that, even though they usually get subverted by politicians...who themselves are usually scumbags ;>

Since this is a pretty flat rejection of your point, I wanted to let you know it's not intended to insult you.

I understand where you are coming from but,

Some people are scumbags who can only help this world by leaving it.

how do we determine who's a scumbag?

Certainly there are people who can endanger others and this shouldn't be ignored, but I've also known people joining the military because they think they will get respect out of it which is what worries me most. Have you read about the Standford Experiment?

I have read about it, and done a paper on it!

The experiment wasn't really an experiment (details in the posts)...

The Stanford Prison Experiment

Thanks for the courteous response; it's hard to do on those subjects that are important to us.

One of the reasons I love Steemit is that the profit motive keeps us playing nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46