You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How does someone end up being a top Steem witness?

The point I was making was that, even without the 15 SP delegation, they wouldn't be restricted from commenting and voting. It wasn't that they had a delegation; it was that the delegation wasn't material to them being able to do things.

Sort:  

It looks like everyone is getting a 15 SP delegation from Steemit, which is good. Signing up and not being able to post (only comment and vote) seems ridiculous to me. I stand corrected on the no delegating thing, though. I must have misunderstood the post over at @steemitblog.

Post and comments are calculated the same way. Functionally, there's no difference between them as far as the blockchain is concerned. I haven't read anywhere that this has changed, though if it has and they are categorized differently, I'm all ears.

That is true, isn’t it. Okay. I’m
gonna step back for a bit.

@kafkanarchy84 - posting and commenting are the exact same transaction. A comment IS a post and a post IS a comment - the only difference between them is that there is a field called parent that sorts the comment posts to the post they parent too by association. A top level post is a comment without a parent and a comment is a post with a parent association (and nested comments are just nested posts)

They are literally the same call to the service and the same json and the same thing. A comment is a post is a comment. They are not in any other way different except the parent association field contains an entry.

You are correct, though. Nevermind. I stand corrected. Sorry.

You know the difference I am speaking of, man. Let’s be real. I already know they are the same, technically speaking.

Anyway, it appears it’s not an issue as all new accounts seem to be getting a delegated ~15 SP now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58