Google now censoring news sites : Infowars blocked

in #censorship7 years ago

It came to my attention earlier today while I was at work that Google has apparently engaged in blocking sites that it deems to be fake news. At first I incorrectly made the assumption that my friend had not performed a proper search so I decided to run a test after I left work. When you use the filter Site:inforwars.com and your search terms in the main Google search you will get a large number of hits as evidenced by this screen capture.

As you can see I received 4.8 Million hits from this search . When I attempt to search google news using the same filter I get the following results. As you can see there were no hits at all using the same filter.

I thought to myself there might be an error of some sort so I repeated the search in Google News with a new filter and received the following results. 63 hits with no links to Infowars what so ever. Clearly Google is doing something, and it has all the appearances of censoring search results through the use of filters. Even more interesting is the fact that when the filter in this screen capture was used, it directed me to numerous leftist media outlets including Salon.

I think it is important to note that I am not even a follower of the news that Alex Jones reports because he is not credible as a source of information, but Google is clearly manipulating their search engine to direct people to what they are now considering "real news" . It appears they are also filtering Drudge and other conservative news outlets.

This creates a larger problem with a lack of trust as Google is the largest search engine on the web.

Sort:  

One thing I see is that you've misspelled "infowars" and used "inforwars" on the searches. ;)

Congratulations @neil-rothbard! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this is why, if there is an alternative to google, for anything, i use it, and have, for going on 6 years.

I wrote a post today about an alternate to google. Just few hours old.
www.ecosia.org

So i searched what you searched and this is what i got. You can decide if its better.

Even if you don't like infowars it is entertaining. How do they determine what is real and what isn't? What about free speech. If I want to say crazy things that is my right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00