You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A bit of perspective on our NSFW controversy (SFW post)

in #censorship7 years ago (edited)

Don't let these censorship fanatics win and control the steemit platform, they are here to micro-manage their lives. If you truly stand for free speech, the only thing you should be concerned about is if what you post up is definitely illegal or is a violation of somebodies privacy or alternatively, spam, that's it.

I fucking hate these people who have come here before Steemit has even become well known out there in the world to try and drag it down. Censorship stifles conversation and forces people to be very careful about what they can and can't post and when you bring along arbitrary and vague rules on top of that even being careful isn't enough to stop you from being banned off any community site, never mind a social network.

Fuck them, I'm not interested in talking with people who advocate censorship, the only thing I will compromise with them on is an NSFW section, other than that, they can go and make their own fucking mirror or something if all of this bothers them so much.

I'm an Artist and a soon to be games developer as well and the fact that anybody thinks they can dictate to me what I can and can't draw pisses me off, already I've got this game ready to go and I want to post it up as NSFW which basically takes the piss out of SJWs and Feminists but because of these censorship advocates roaming around how will I know that my content won't get targeted by these retards?

I might just do it anyway, just to really test just how dedicated Steemit really are to free speech and expression, this is how the SJW types get spawned in the first place. Somebody gives in to their retarded demands, then they start realising they actually have power, instead of targeting adult content, they then start going after other stuff as well, people they disagree with, political opinions, different ideas that they don't like, all of it.

If it was spam that was the issue that's fine, but I will not bow to these twats who think it's acceptable to censor things just because they don't like it, there's plenty of shit out there that I don't like at all, but I don't run around wanting them banned from the public domain.

Sort:  

I think the problem we face, is that 'censorship' is a word applied quite liberally to lots of activities. For example, I censor what my 2 year old daughter sees. She doesn't see gore, or sex, or any number of other things I consider unsavoury.
Most people would agree that this is just good parenting on my part, and hardly qualifies as a violation of her rights.
The word 'censorship' is also applied to the violent silencing of political perspectives. Most would agree that this is a human rights violation of the highest order.
Perhaps a single word to describe those two extremes, and everything in between, is a little too blunt a verbal instrument.
If I post something mundane, which nobody upvotes, am I being 'censored'?
Sure, it didn't win the kind of audience I think it deserves, but that doesn't mean its being actively 'censored'
The dev team don't owe anyone a soapbox, but if we build one, they shouldn't kick it out from under us.

That's not what this is about and you know it, it's nothing to do with upvote, it's to do with the fact that already despite this platform being quite young, there are people who actively want to outright ban or throw out adult content entirely from this place.

As for parenting, yes, that is your responsibility, which is why I'm fine with an NSFW or Adult section so you can control what you see and what you don't on your own computer. So like I said, when I'm talking about censorship, I'm talking about people who think it is their moral 'right' to go around persecuting content creators and policing what they can and cannot put up here.

The point is, the steemit devs and a lot of other people are claiming that this platform is censorship free, well, I want to see them protect the most extreme content out there to prove it, otherwise they're just hypocrites like the rest of them.

Yeah, I'm with you on this.

I think that "self-censorship" is just as dangerous a government forcefully censoring you.

Self-censorship is the fear you WILL be forcefully censored, so instead of taking the risk, you don't say anything at all. You just keep silent, to avoid trouble.

This might appeal to you greatly, if you're a puritan and don't want to see anything "evil", such as sex, bad words, or unpopular opinions.

But I do not favor puritans. In this age, the internet is a very censored place already.
I would like Steemit to be that one place that is NOT censored, rather than just another censored website.

If this place does get censored, informally, formally, or anything else, I'll just leave.
I like money, but I like freedom more.

Informal censorship is just as foul as the real deal, because the result is the same: People feel afraid to speak.

I might just do it anyway, just to really test just how dedicated Steemit really are to free speech and expression

Steemit is small right now and any such "prove a point" tests will probably not be beneficial to steemit or the community right now.

There are myriad pitfalls before us and we dodge most of them by crossing bridges only when we have to. We presently lack the bandwidth to cross all the bridges simultaneously. Save the extra headaches for us for such time we are larger, please. :)

PS: When in doubt, assume good faith.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64