You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Sister the SJW and our Eclipse Encounter

in #censorship7 years ago

It seems to me you handled it the best way possible given her described patterns of behavior. Sadly, plugging her ears, trying to drown you out and leaving when the conversation did not align with her desires suggests she is unwilling or unable to behave in a rational manner and engage in a reasoned debate of ideas.

Her willingness to sacrifice a familial relationship on the altar of her imagined infallibility is understandably hurtful. You have every right to be disappointed and have my sincere sympathies. Perhaps she will wake up some day and realize the cost of her hubris, after which things may be reconcilable.

This makes me think of something my father once told me. He said "Son, when we pass on, we get to feel everything we made other people feel and experience everything we put others through during our lives. We all get what we deserve in the end, for good or ill." It was one of the most sobering things I had ever heard until that point. I really don't think there is anything I can write that will really help and I don't have any advice, but you have been heard and understood. * Hand clap on the shoulder. * Oh, and the old truism "Our friends are the family we get to choose."

Not to go out on an inappropriate note or anything, but sometimes thinking about something else completely helps a bit, try this. Hey, it's what guy friends are for.

Sort:  

You have well characterized the situation. I have a lot of respect for what your father told you, and have told my own sons I care little for the judgement of others, even of God, but expect that I will judge myself more harshly than anyone could, were I faced with eternity of perfect clarity regarding my actions, and that judgement is what I seek to square up to.

For some reason, even when I disable my adblocker and noscript, College Humor just won't open for me.

I very much appreciate the kind thought though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47