Cemetery Photos

in #cemeteryphotos6 years ago (edited)

Some people are fortunate and don't have to think about buying or leasing a place at the cemetery, or ordering a headstone. Others are less fortunate and have to do it, have to go through the whole process of deciding what kind of stone they want, or better yet, what kind of stone they can afford, to honor the lost ones.

In many cases it's not about what you want but about what you can afford.

cw45m92cf4.jpg

This is an old stone, the first person buried there lived between 1877 and 1958, the second between 1905 and 1998. I suspect the stone was set sometime after 1958.

If I were to choose, I'd choose a stone like this. I like it but unfortunately no one makes stones like this any more.

y41zeivzin.jpg

I found these old stones around the chapel, they look very old, the text is not visible on them any more.

8uqpck2bjs.jpg

This is old too but in a very good shape, it was set in 1853.

This is my contribution to #Cemeteryphotos Challenge, run by my dear friend @melinda010100.

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

Vote for @good-karma witness

06m6wxfoyl.png

Sort:  

Cemeteries sometimes looks cool also if they are sad places, in some old ones i found cool stones and sculptures..like angel goth sculptures!

I agree with you on that!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I love these photos, Erika. Nice post. However, I think it's a little premature to tell us what type of funeral stone you'd like. 🙂

Well, that is debatable. If course we're still young and funeral is not exactly on our bucket list, nor on our conversation topics list but you know, life is like a box of chocolate, you never know what you get.
On the other hand, don't worry, I'm not planning my funeral, I only said that because this photo came up while I was making the post. I'm not roaming around the cemetery picking headstones for myself 😂

This is very good. Look at me, lecturing about young people picking headstones. I bought a nice slot in one of our cemeteries. This was happening many years ago and my mom wanted to purchase a slot for her parents. There were more graves that needed and the church would not split them so... The offer was to good to pass it. 😂

I wish I had a funny story like yours 🙂. Mine is a sad one, unfortunately. Sometimes life makes you take decisions out of necessity.
Anyway, in a big city it's good to be prepared if you don't want to end up miles away from your loved ones in the middle of nowhere 🙂

I know. I had my share of sadness. But what can we do apart from going on with our lives?
The grave I prodly own is in my hometown. One way or another, I'm going back home. 🙂

They don't make em like they used to. I like old stuff. Upvoted.

Many thanks @joeyarnoldvn, I really appreciate it. I agree with you, they don't make them like that any more.

I like those too! The marble stones just didn't hold up over time like the granite ones do. I was shocked by how much a headstone costs these days.

I know that first hand, unfortunately.

I know you do, so do I. But when Jim died, I bought a double stone, so at least that's done and paid for!

Those are great photos, Erika. What a beautiful cemetery! resteemed :)

Many thanks Keith! I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64092.96
ETH 3145.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88