Celfchallenge — Fireflies in my Heart, Hands in my Hair (Original Writing and Music)

in #celfchallenge6 years ago (edited)

A DREAM SPARKS in several places at once, roots like lightning, twining impossibilities together.

The dreamer’s feet waltz over moonlit grass and wet sand, spinning into sky a-twinkle with stars. The dream spans time, space, and spirit.


starry sky
Image courtesy NASA/JPL-Caltech.


Rich night, painted with brilliant pricks of light, draws the dreamer, but earth pulls as powerfully as sky. Fireflies lure a willing heart beneath the canopy of trees. Sighs blend with breeze.

Wind tugs eyes closed, arms and mouth open wide, throat exposed in a breath of rapture.

Not to be forgotten, fear tries to bind the dreamer with shark-toothed thoughts and shame-thick lies, its habitual deceit imploring the dreamer not to dream. “Sleep without wonder,” it whispers. “There is nothing real to be found here. Better to hide. Better to be blind.”

But the dreamer turns from the liar, heeding the call of the sea. Ocean crashes her salty song, making the dreamer's soul reel in depth and danger and delight—tempting skin to wear nothing but saltwater and moonlight.

The dreamer, deliciously torn, gives into the tangled dream. Earth, sea, and sky seduce the senses, and the traitor, Fear, is fooled into slumber.

Apprehension recedes. Freedom awakens.

Nature knows its greatness, its potency and purpose. The dreamer, melting into surrender, recognizes that everything is woven together—realizes that a star sparkles in every heart.

And a song is born.

line

Fireflies in My Heart, Hands in My Hair.


The wind is like hands in my hair
The night breathes its song
The pull is so strong

I trip over fear as I dare
To follow the breeze
I run through the trees

Stars call brightly
I shine back shyly
But there’s no denying
I’m one of them

Fear-lies slide
Through my mind
I close my eyes
And give in

The wind is like hands in my hair
The sea sings her song
The tide is so strong

I walk the sand feet and soul bare
The waves dance with me
The night sets me free

Stars call brightly
I shine back smiling
‘Cause there’s no denying
I’m one of them

Ocean sighs
And fireflies
I close my eyes
And give in

The wind is like hands in my hair
The stars hum their song
Now dawn won’t be long

It’s up to the sky that I stare
The sea glows for me
The night sets me free

I close my eyes
And sail inside
A dream so wide
I start to spin

My spirit flies
Into the sky
I breathe a sigh
And give in


Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line

A note about the music:


I’m going to call this version a rough draft. I think this song needs a lot more than what I’m set up to do right now. It needs some @yidneth and @isaria magic: keyboards and sound effects, multiple instruments, a mic with some reverb... Either of you want to collaborate?

I edited the lyrics slightly since recording this last night. I expect the music will evolve as the song matures, as well.

I almost deleted this video, actually, because the performance isn’t as perfect as I want it to be, but I’m facing my fear of imperfection and embracing the fact that this is where I’m at, right now, and it’s a good place to be.

Now and always, I keep moving forward, learning, exploring, and dreaming.

line

Inspiration, and a reminder to shine.


I won’t reveal too much behind this song and story right now, but I will touch on the fear and liberation addressed by this piece with a well-known quote:

"Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, 'Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?' Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It's not just in some of us; it's in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”
― Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of "A Course in Miracles"

This quote is so powerful, every time I read it! And I didn’t think of it while I was writing this song, but after. The song and story are about self-recognition, just like this quote.

For me, the easiest way to remember who I truly am is through connection with nature. When I am afraid to shine, I must look to the sky and remind myself that I am a star.

line

Thanks for reading!

This has been an entry for the #celfchallenge contest sponsored by @sndbox and hosted by @celfmagazine with the help of @anomadsoul and @guyfawkes4-20. Check out the contest post for more details.

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @steemgigs, @noblewitness, @enginewitty, @jatinhota, @jackmiller, @drakos, @guiltyparties, @gtg, @curie, @patrice, @pfunk — there are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

Beautiful intro to the creation behind the song sweets. Really puts you there. LOVE IT😍🤗

Thank you!!! The problem is I like the intro better than the song lyrics. lol! An artist is her own worst critic. But the good thing is a song can evolve... I'm so glad you love it. 🤗

What if... I did a reading of the first part and it blended into you singing the song? Can mix it when you get your final draft, or better liked draft done. I dont believe in perfection. Chaos theory and all lol 😎😁

Oooooooh! Let's try it and see how it turns out. Sounds like a fun collaboration. I wonder how many drafts I'll collect of this song. lol!

This is a beautiful song, and I am glad you didn't delete the video! Your almost-shy, unpretentious presence is always delightful and I almost feel like I am there with you rather than watching a video. The preamble you wrote before sharing the lyrics, beginning with:

Rich night, painted with brilliant pricks of light, draws the dreamer...

is absolutely wonderful! Your descriptions are mesmerizing and would have made a fabulous post even without the song! What a sparkling, poetic soul you have, my friend! 🤗

Yeah... so... you know you make me glow and grin and giggle and want to hugglepounce you all at the same time, right? Thank you so much for appreciating what I share and giving me such kind encouragement. 🤗🤗🤗

Los buenos y poéticos pensamientos son como terrones de azúcar. Un solo pensamiento puede ser agradable al sentido del gusto de nuestra mente, pero muchos pensamientos juntos recrean un delicioso néctar, un rico postre para disfrutar. Quizá esperes mejorar tu canción, y está bien eso, pero los que finalmente te escuchamos podemos decirte que esta GENIAL. Hermosa canción, bella melodía. Inspiradora...

Muchas gracias, mi amigo. 🤗

I looooove this writing and song. Really really speaks to me. Also that quote, holy moly. Heart opener.
Thank you for sharing, so much ♡

Oh, yay! Thank you! I'm so glad you love it, that's wonderful! Yes, the quote is something powerful. It goes right to my core. I have no idea how many times I've read it, but it's one of the most important quotes for me. Really puts things into perspective. 💖

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by katrina-ariel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The melody is hauntingly beautiful. I love your voice and the vibe of this song. I thought it sounded great, but I definitely can understand the whole perfectionist tendencies. I have to fight that myself with my writing quite often.

That being said, this is gorgeous. I'm curious to hear it if you collab with some others to add other instruments, but then again, I almost always prefer acoustic guitar by itself.

Fabulous song as always.

Thank you!!! So nice to hear that you enjoy the song, and that you like acoustic guitar by itself, too! Your words mean a lot, thank you so much for the sweet comment! 💖

Beautiful song and playing! Embrace the imperfections, it's what makes music, recordings in general have created an image of music that isn't genuine.

Oh! What a good thing to remember. And I'm honoured that you like the song. Thank you so much! 💖

Great that you also found another clean corner of the house... I'm starting to suspect the whole house is tidy....

Not true. The whole house is messy, in some way or another. Sometimes I do a better job at hiding it. ;)

What did I just read??? That intro is lovely and amazing and then the actual song, wow. Just as I think you can not surprise me anymore and that I can not love you more than I do, you go on and prove me wrong. 💚💚💚

You are the sweetest. Thank you so much! 🤗🤗🤗 Your encouragement means a lot to me, my friend.

That's a lovely song. So glad I caught you on PYPT.

Thank you so much! Yes, PYPT is fabulous for finding great people. :)

This excellent post was included in the latest issue of The Inbox Runneth Over. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way, and your support for this project and especially its occupants would be very much appreciated. Thank you for everything. Have a lovely day!

(Yes, I'm finally getting around to sending this out.)

I sent you a small gift from Dustsweeper -- to keep your prosperity stream topped-up and flowing along.

Thank you so much! What a fabulous gift, both the feature and the dustsweeper love. Yay! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66