The day my village became a filmset - Agatha Christie

in #celebrities7 years ago (edited)

A few weekends ago, back in July (sounds like ages ago!) a film crew came to the little village I live in and filmed a few scenes for a feature film / series that will be aired on Christmas here in the UK.

As the title of this post suggests, it certainly was an Agatha Christie adaptation! Agatha Christie; Ordeal by Innocence!

Back in about May/ June there was a knock at the door and a lovely friendly man introduced himself as a location manager and that the village I live in has been selected to be part of the film / series. It was chosen because the film / series is set in the 1940/50s and our village, the street I live on in particular, has that look about it. No modern houses.

We were asked to move our cars and the council came along to remove planters (too modern) and we were warned filming will go on into the night and end at 3am.

The weekend before the filming was due to start, a few people started arriving to set the street up. Here are some photos:

Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
(These photos are my own, I took them on my own DSLR - a Nikon D3200 - and edited myself).

Then by about the afternoon on the Friday the filming was due, the street was the busiest it's been in a very long time. We (the village) heard a few names that would be in the show, not all of them would be there unforutnately, but here were a few:
Bill Nighy, Matthew Goode, Luke Treadaway, Catherine Keener, Anthony Boyle, Ed Westwick, Crystal Clarke, morven Christie, Ella Purnell, Alice Eve, Eleanor Tomlinson.

I will admit, although I am a little ashamed to say, I only recognised Bill Nighy's name. I had to research the others!

But I did manage to see Luke Treadaway (apparently he is a main character in the story), Crystal Clarke and Anthony Boyle. I got some photos of the first two as well, but unfortunately not Anthony Boyle.

Here are some shots of Luke Treadaway and Crystal Clarke:

Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
(Again, my own photos!)

It was an interesting ordeal (see what I did there?) although I didn't get much sleep that night. They had used a fog machine for some of their shots. One of which was shot in the evening and supposed to be a 'winter' scene. But the machine was loud! I thought the vintage cars and trucks were loud, this machine was ridiculous. And they really did stop at 3am! Finally packed up and left at 3:30am!

The next day, the location manager was back supervising the clean up. The 'shops' were gone, and they were flats/houses again, but the pub got to keep it's new make-over!

I had heard, though, there was a trouble neighbour that caused a few issues (not wanting to move her car or take down her hanging baskets). But it's safe to say they managed to pull it off in just one day/night.

I met some interesting people too - mostly fans on Twitter where I was tweeting about it. I'm not one to go out and try to annoy the stars. Although I've had Crystal Clarke 'like' my photos on Twitter.

Sort:  

What a great story and nice pictures, too!

Thank you @donkeypong.
I'm starting to think I should post about my photography. I'm a bit of an amature photographer. :)

Hello Penny, welcome to Steemit. I love Agatha Christie, like her I also come from Torquay (Although I spent much of my childhood in London). She's worshipped down here, it's one of our 'few' claims to fame.
On a more bitter, and envious note, how on earth have you got a reputation of 54 in less than a week? It's rather demoralising, especially when a lot of us minnows have been trying for months. Don't get me wrong, I will be following you, cause u seem very interesting, and have a lot of similar interests to me. I'm just flabbergasted (love that word) that you've shot up in rank. Don't forget a fellow writer/photographer/Brit when you're swimming around with the whales ;)

Awww, now I feel bad! I honestly have no idea, I didn't know I had built such a reputation already? I just post a few of my writing work and they've done quite well.
Are you using the right tags when you post?
I'll check out your work for you, maybe that'll help?

Aww don't feel bad, I just couldn't believe a reputation could go up that quick. Yea, It's probably because you've had some successful posts. You are a good writer though, so it's not like you don't deserve it. Thank you for checking out my posts, I see you liked one of my short stories. My problem is I just don't post enough, I will start doing more though. Nice to meet you Penny!

Thank you!
I have resteemed it too, hopefully my followers will see it and like it. I've seen a few people have upvoted already.

What a story, and amazing photos. The street outside my business in Halifax was featured in A Touch of Frost 2008 - the actual footage lasted a few seconds but they spent days filming it!

They were only here for a day! I think they managed to utilize the place for a few scenes, but yeah, it'll only be a few seconds on the end product, I think!

Thank you.
Taken and edited myself.
(Although, the editing side was just a quick black and white or sepia filter).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47