My Thursday Favourites #2 Contest! || My Favourite Subject /s in School : Chinese Calligraphy

in #ccc5 years ago

Happy Wednesday Everyone!!

It is time for another @marblely’s My Thursday Favourite contest. This week theme would be My Favourite Subject/s in school.

In my primary school year, my favourite subject would be Chinese Calligraphy. Chinese Calligraphy can consider as a unique artistic form of Chinese culture. Mastering the technique of using ink to write Chinese Calligraphy is not easy, it required dedication and passions. Although today, Chinese Calligraphy is no longer common in our society but it still famous in China where it serves as a channel for traditional Chinese art and culture.

The traditional tool used for Calligraphy were paper, brush, ink and ink slab. But in our generation, they have simplified the ink, where it was a readymade ink in a bottle. We no longer required to grind the ink. I do believe in china, they still used the proper traditional way. Where they grind the ink by using ink slab each time they plan to write.

The type of paper we used in primary school is a normal paper with small boxes in a piece of thin paper which able to absorb the ink. It was not an ordinary A4 paper. The correct and traditional paper known as “xuan paper” (Rice Paper) which has best strength of ink absorption.

Image5.jpg
Chinese Calligraphy Tools

We used low material brush in school because the traditional brush was made from animal hair which is soft and flexible. And the price also expensive. They do have different size of brush, the small brush for small letter and big brush for big letter. But in school, the brush we used was multipurpose :P

The normal brush and Ink I used in school similar with below image.

Image 2.jpg
Source

Image 3.jpg
Source

It not easy to learn Chinese Calligraphy, we need to know when to press and raise the brush while writing. I still remember my Chinese Calligraphy teacher always knocked my hand if my position of holding the brush incorrect. There are seven standard strokes in Chinese Calligraphy. It consists of horizontal line, dot, Sweeping downward stroke, the sharp curve.

Image 4.jpg

Source
In primary school, we first learnt by follow the sample of word in the practice book. It similar as below, the purpose was to let us familiar with all the strokes and how to position our writing hand.

Image 1.jpg

Source

Then slowly, my teacher would give us a blank paper without any sample anymore. He gave us some topic to write. I still remember how he taught us and how messy it was with all the inks. The smell of the ink was not pleasant. Sometimes because of my carefulness, my whole school bag full of ink and scolded by my mother just because I didn’t close the ink bottle well.

I love the way how the teacher taught us, he used a fun way to encourage us. But he also a stern teacher. I still remember when I lazy with his homework, I just wrote it in normal Chinese font, I would get a big “ egg” then asked to do it again with more exercise.

I have discontinued Chinese Calligraphy in secondary school because it does not listed as a subject in my school. But i still miss it very much.

Maybe one day when I retire I should pick up Chinese Calligraphy again.

Thank you for dropping by my page and have a nice day!!


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.
Sort:  

This is such an interesting subject in school! I know it takes a lot of practice to write perfectly and Chinese calligraphy is a beautiful art. I think you should continue to pick it up again and master it @oliviackl :). Thank you for your entry!

You need to practice a lot, but too bad i didn't continue after primary school. This is in one of my to do list when i retire.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome post! Amazing and georgeous. @oliviackl

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe thank you @crittercrats..

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome! ☺

Posted using Partiko Android

I've got one of those good news/bad news sort of situations. The bad news is I think you may be a couple of chapters behind on my story now...

The good news is you have more available to read! Here's the latest chapter. I hope you enjoy!

This post received an upvote with x2.5bid.
Follow @haccolong to get randomly free upvote every day.
Thanks for using the service and your waiting @team-ccc !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oliviackl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

To be honest I think I might try that 'beginner' calligraphy sheets myself to learn more control over brush. That's very important while doin calligraphy but also when you're painting as I am trying now

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, give it a try. But you need get used to the smell of the ink 😝 Once you master it, you can draw. With your talent, you can master in short time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68779.72
ETH 3920.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64