THURSDAY'S FAVOURITES CONTEST 2.18, MY FAVOURITE SHAPEsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ccc5 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody,

My favorite of all shapes is SQUARE because every day especially with my handcrafts it involves making square like granny squares I crocheted. Making a square pattern is easy and doable with four equal sides and four equal angles.

Most of my tops I made started at the center to form squares.

IMG_20191017_113256.jpg

Screenshot_20191016_101721.jpg

IMG_20191017_114443.jpg

Why square or granny squares?

I started making or crocheting items wayback in 1980's using different stitches, different shape and all were for sale or customized order. I didn't make any for myself, even inside our house no finished items.

One day in 2012 our neighbors new house helper appreciated what I was crocheting, that time it was a plarn hat. Her name is Mona, who came from the province and many always teased her because she's like a little abnormal but efficient in her work as a house helper.

One afternoon, at siesta time while I was crocheting, she was there looking at me. Asking why I always make for someone but not for myself. She observed that my work was not easy so I should also make something for myself. Hmm, that time, I realized she was right, even the dull and the ignorant they too have their story. After that, I started making my own plarn bag and hat.

The following year, after the whole Olongapo City was flooded wherein the water inside our rented house up to the ceiling, we lost everything, all our belongings. We transferred to the mountain subdivision. There I met our new neighbor, Aling Julie, 73 yrs old, an old crochet enthusiast. I visited her home, showed me her closet full of more than a dozen crocheted dresses she made. I remembered until now what she told me, "Judy, from now on you must start making crochet dress for yourself because time will come in our senior year, you can not crochet anymore."

After that I started making my own tops, grannies many possibilities. Lot and lots of squares.

Thanks for dropping by...
@jurich60

Thank you @ marblely for hosting this contest.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 87.25% upvote from us for your 8816 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Hi, @jurich60!

You just got a 0.6% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Awesome crocheting ideas @jurich60! I hope to create one of those given the time.

Ah yes, your beautiful granny squares crocheted tops. I love those that has the different colored and patterned squares patchworked together :) And a lovely story to accompany. How wise and true Aling Julie’s words are.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @marblely yeah, true...I hav'nt crocheted many items when I aged 60, two yrs ago. Not like before when I was younger I crocheted until dawn and had tried 2 days only 3 hours of sleep

Posted using Partiko Android

You received an upvote from @team-ccc. 👍🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16