You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teddy Update- Last acupuncture before going to the cattery and life update.

in #caturday6 years ago

Poor babies :( I'd do the same thing though. I almost lost my kitty a few years ago. He had gotten into a fight and ended up with and abscess under his chin. In less than 2 hours the skin actually started to fall off. We had to wait until morning to get him into the Vet. They had to remove so much necrotic skin the Vet didn't think she'd have enough skin to close the wound. I asked her what that meant and she said we'd have to put him down. I just stared at her and said you better find a way..that's not an option. Thankfully there was just enough.

I hope it all works out.

Sort:  

Thank you 😊

Its crazy how fast things happen with cats skin. I'm glad your cat could be saved! They are very resilient.

When I was a teen we lived on a farm for a bit and our cats went missing for a week. Finally we found the only remaining one with the skin on the inside of her leg torn off from above her knee down to her foot. A big scab had formed and as my parents could not afford to take her to the vet, I treated her every day with Antibiotic powder that I poured into the space where the scab had started pulling away. She healed up completely, the hair grew back the same way it had been, as if nothing ever happened. She went on to live 3 more years.

That is amazing. My little guy is 12 now. You would never guess half of his chin and neck were missing 3 yrs ago. Of course you can't really tell he's as old as he is. I love my dogs, but if anything happens to my cat, and I know time is limited now...It' going to be very hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33