Caring for cats with kidney disease

in #caturday6 years ago

Kidney disease is fairly common in older cats and seems to be mainly a disease of old age although cats can get kidney damage from untreated bladder infections, dehydration, medications, anaesthesia complications, eating toxic plants like lilies or licking antifreeze. For some reason, antifreeze is attractive to cats so it's vital that they never have access to it. Lilies, especially easter lilies, are deadly for cats.

If a cat is over 12 years old, kidney disease carries a statistic of around one in three, so it is a good idea to monitor an older cat's health regularly. Signs that a cat may have kidney disease are weight loss, drinking more water than usual and dandruff in the coat. They may also vomit often or have a poor appetite. Some vets recommend yearly blood tests to monitor kidney function.

Some cats go downhill very fast, others can be maintained on a renal diet for a long time and others will need supportive treatments regularly, in the form of subcutaneous fluids and antinausea medications. Fluids are given because a cat with kidney damage no longer concentrates urine adequately and thus loses more water than they are drinking. Cats, unlike humans, can't be told to drink more water, so we have to give them extra, to keep the toxin load in the body lower and maintain good hydration.

earnest in box.jpg

My cat Earnest was 12 years old when he was diagnosed with kidney disease. What I leaned later was that he had one kidney that was no longer functioning and another that had reduced function. This may have been caused by emergency surgery he had to have when he was 9 when he had a blockage from bladder stones. Although his kidneys tested normal at the time of his surgery, it is possible that he suffered kidney damage at the time of the surgery.

When he was first diagnosed, he was severely dehydrated and was hospitalised and put on a drip. He did not improve much from hospitalisation and when he was discharged, I was told to give him fluids, blood-pressure medication and a renal diet. I was very upset and I fully expected him to die within a few months. Giving fluids was hard to do at first and he didn't like it much. I learned to warm up the fluids and eventually I was able to switch to smaller needles that hurt less. I joined some online support groups, some of which were helpful and supportive but eventually I realised that they were increasingly filled with ignorant, bullying people who believed that they knew more than the vets did. While some vets aren't up to date at treating kidney disease, many are and my vet is great. I got quite annoyed at all the egos, ignorance and vet-bashing and ultimately quit using these groups.

It took a while to stabilise Earnest and there were many ups and downs in the first year and he stopped eating the renal diet so I fed him whatever he wanted to eat. He ultimately lived another four years, despite his kidney disease. I put this down to giving him fluids daily. In the end, his kidneys were still coping but he had reached the end of his life and he stopped eating. It was expensive and time-consuming to care for him but I didn't mind and I was glad that I got to spend the extra time with him. Not all cats cope well with being treated in this fashion but he was an easy-going cat so the daily treatment didn't impact too negatively on his quality of life. I'm not sure that I would do that for all of my cats, though. I believe it's important to consider the cat's needs before your own. When I was part of online communities, I saw many people pushing all kinds of medical treatments on to their cats to keep them alive at all costs and I decided that he didn't deserve excessive invasive medical intervention, only treatment that kept him comfortable and I would only treat him for as long as he seemed to be enjoying his life. He was very special to me and we had a very close bond as I had him from when he was a tiny 4-week old feral kitten.

Sort:  

Very handsome boy!
Yes, farewell to pets is always very difficult and painful for people who love them ...
And memories of them remain in your memory forever.

Toxic communities are the worst. Glad you saw the signs and left. Only you know your cat the best, plus a trusted vet. Letting them live a comfortable and loving life is better than constant medical interventions that may or may not have any proven tests. Less stress is better and lots of TLC.

Exactly

Earnest purr he was very cute and old would be like my grandfather. I'm sorry to hear what happened, my mom has also entered into groups to learn and prevent diseases that can harm me and the number of people trying to medicate their cats without the supervision of a veterinarian is incredible. My mom studies medicine so she always tells them that if they would do the same with a person instead of taking her to the doctor, so it is a very frustrating situation.

I don't know why so many people consider the internet to be a source of fact

The cat is so cute looking. Good photo.

They bring joy and they bring sadness

That they do

Great post for caturday. We have one old and one young cat. The elder is as you. Said a bit more work. He is a cool cat, and as long as he enjoys life we keep him around. Hate to see them sick or in pain. Thanks for telling us about renal failure. Your friend. 🐓🐓

Elderly cats are so sweet

He looked like a gorgeous boy. Thats without a doubt the hardest part of having pets, when its time to say goodbye.

It really is

hope you like it made by me :)

He was certainly a beautiful cat... and you gave him a long and loving life; thank you for taking such good care of him! Sadly, too many people think of their cats as "just an animal."

We've lost a couple to kidney disease; Kramer was quite old and shut down very suddenly... it was just too late for any effective intervention. Orange was a vibrant 4-year old cat, however... he was a bit sluggish one morning; by 8pm we rushed him to the 24-hour vet and by midnight he had died from "acute kidney failure" in spite of aggressive treatment. we think he got into "something," but we could never figure out WHAT as the house is quite extensively "cat safe."

Anyway, a lovely tribute to Earnest!

=^..^=

Thank you. I am sorry to hear about yours. It is especially heartbreaking when they get sick and die so suddenly. It was easier for me to make my peace with the inevitability of the outcome over time

I'm sorry to hear!

I have a cat myself and i know this day will come for me also sometime. I try not to think about it and enjoy my cat as much as possible.

That's the best way

The hardest part of having pets to let them go from your heart when you get used to them as part of the family, I love cats and dogs, but I agree that the personalities of cats are unique, I would not like to have the day to come when my two pets have to leave, but that's the law of life, it's sad what I just read, but hey, I enjoyed enjoying it while you were by your side.

It is all you can do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05