Neutering

in #cats6 years ago

F5001D2C-714B-46F8-8861-D6E8CF8E0BFD.jpeg

After some time thinking about it, I decided to take my boy for neutering / castration today. The decision was based on several factors, but ultimately was decided in his best interests. As an owner making such decisions, it often feels like something I shouldn't have the decision to make. After-all, denying "someone" the opportunity to copulate feels cruel, but then on the flip side, so does denying them that opportunity.

I intend to raise my cats in a homely environment where they are allowed to go outside, but I would prefer if they stayed mostly at home and not roaming the wilderness looking for a mate. I noticed that among my group of cats, all the males would leave for extended periods of times (up to a week) in one go, whilst the females would stay mostly at home. Understandably, there are territorial issues between neighbouring cats which can lead to some significant physical harm, and sometimes, life endangering diseases.

For a male, the castration process is quite simple. The vet instructed that he not be fed after 9pm the night before the operation and be taken into the Vet first thing in the morning. The operation is conducted under full general anaesthetic and there are no need for stitches or a plastic collar provided he doesn't lick the wound. I was surprised at how minimally invasive the operation was as my boy was back to normal within a day!

Follow-up checkups would come 5 days later, and for his first meal, a very easily digestible canned food was provided. All in all, the operation was a success and I can already see he spends quite a bit more time at home than before.

Remember, it is always important to consider the bigger picture. It may feel like stripping him of a natural right, but neutering allows the cat to feel happier more of the time and at the same time, reduce physical disputes with other cats, reduce the risk of sexually transmitted diseases and overall improvement in long term health.

Everybody wants their cat to live a long and healthy life, and I believe neutering is a large part of that!

F63F5682-571F-425F-959D-D6C7D0FECC21.jpeg

Sort:  

I agree!

Great work yoo! you are awesome @thecatfiles

Good on you, getting your cat fixed is always a good idea unless your wish to breed it. There are too many cats anyways and they make better company when fixed.

My name is “The Smush” and I approve this post.

the-smush-approval.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55