My Turkish Angora

in #cats6 years ago

05183132-03BA-49E8-93DC-1F40A1398391.jpeg

A lot of people refer to my fluffier cat as a domestic long hair. For lack of better understand of breeds, they are not entirely wrong. However, I would offer clarification that my cat is the Turkish Angora breed of domestic cat which have a long lineage coming from the Ankara region of Turkey. Since the breed has been in the history books for several hundred years, it is a pretty well documented and well defined breed.

One of the key features of the Angora is their long fur coat, this turned out to be a disaster because it almost drove them to the point of selective breeding extinction. This happened because they were bred to improve the Persian cat and distinctions between the two became softer until Angora's were almost ruled to be no different from the Persian.

People who have persian cats will know the difference is quite drastic because the Persian cats tend to have flat faces, stockier but shorter builds.

Meanwhile, Angora cats have long fur like their Persian counterparts but instead of the stockier short build, have longer slender figures. In the early 20th century, it was decided by the Ankara Zoo that the Angora must be protected and thus they began breeding odd eyed versions of the Angora where the eyes may be blue, green, yellow or a combination.

In terms of behaviour, the Angora cat has a lot to offer. They are very well adjusted to humans and form very good bonds with the people they select. They are also highly intelligent and will react to owners commands if trained. They have a tendency to climb high so you will find them in high up places in your home, or if outside, on roofs.

Take home message? Persians are not Angora's, and domestic white cats include the Turkish Angora but are not limited to this single breed. I have found immense pleasure forming the bond with my Angora, none of my other cat's have quite the same engagement.

24D78F48-EABF-4D24-9BF6-DD7DBEE50E54.jpeg

Sort:  

I never thought this kitty was a domestic longhair, but I did not know what breed it might be, just that it looked exotic. It's a lovely cat, and I think the white cat either near or mingled with the green foliage is always stunningly beautiful.

I have a fairly sizeable garden which my cats love to play around in. Most if not all of my supplementary pictures are taken from my garden and you're right, I also think white cats with green foliage as background is stunningly beautiful!

I also enjoyed your kitty climbing the blossoming tree - very lovely - would make a nice greeting card.

Angora cats are, in my opinion, much more beautiful and intelligent than the Persians you mention. Their slim figure and amazing fur color have always made a great impression on me. I even thought about adopting a cat of this breed, but in the end we decided on a Norwegian Forest Cat and it was also a great companion 😻🐾

What is your cat's name @thecatfiles? Please, give him nice flatters from me! 😽💕

Wow, a Norwegian Forest Cat, they are very beautiful and quite similar too. I used to have one that was especially vocal, singing all day and night. This one's called fluffy 😽

It must be her feature or hallmarks :) Greetings to you and #Fluffy, have a nice day! 🐱☀🌼

That's a very beautiful cat. Happy Feline Friday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76