Caturday; Soju Vs Clippers 😾

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

As Soju turned into an adult, so too did her fur. She turned into a big ball of fluff. With her full coat came the shedding of her long coat during summer. Due to this, she would throw up hairball more often. Soju is not a lover of the brush. She only likes to be brushed on and around her head. What a fussy cat. I would try my best to brush her and she would get upset.

It is actually funny to brush her because she would come to you to be brushed, but at the same time she would swing her tail wildly as she gets upset. So she walks away but comes back to you for a brush but continues to swing her tail. It seems as though she likes it because she keeps coming back, but in fact she doesn’t. She will end up giving you a bite if you continue lol.

Oh if you like reading stories, Soju made an appearance in a story written by @linnyplant; currently part 1/3 is out. Check it out to read how feisty Soju gets in there. Here is the link to the first chapter: https://steemit.com/twbwritingcontest/@linnyplant/the-queen-of-cats-part-1-of-3

~~~~😾~~~~😾~~~~😾~~~~

soju fluff.JPG

So we decided to give Soju baths during these shedding times to wash out the loose fur. But of course she hates bath time. It is also a very big job to do because you need to dry her as well. Although I did find she lets me brush her more as I am drying her in my lap. This was great because I could brush a lot of hair out. It did reduce the amount of hairballs being thrown up but we couldn’t give her a bath all the time.

Then my partner had a great idea of giving her a haircut. We were already trimming the hair around her bottom to avoid things getting stuck, so why not give the rest of her a trim. At first we used a scissors to give her a trim. Then we used human clippers which didn’t work to well. So we borrowed a friend’s pet clipper to try out and it worked better. So we purchased one too. Although it doesn’t seem to work as well as my friend’s one; or maybe I just suck at using it.

Here is the first time we shaved Soju, we had to use her favourite treats to bribe her. We didn’t shave everything, just what we could. As you can see from the picture how displeased she was after the shave.

~~~~😾~~~~😾~~~~😾~~~~

Here is the second time we gave her a trim. You can see how very torn she feels between her favourite treats and the clippers.

Overall, giving her a trim with the clippers helps a lot. With shorter hair, it helps to bypass her digestive tract and avoid it getting stuck. We don’t shave her so close, but short enough to keep her warm during summer and avoid throwing up or have a hard time going to the toilet. We did try laxative for cats but it didn’t work so well. More importantly it was expensive to use all the time.


~~~~😾~~~~😾~~~~😾~~~~

We only give Soju a trim with the shaver once a year during the hot summer days where she would not be so affected with a shorter coat. During winter, well we can’t do much but brush and bathe her when we can and just clean up her hairballs. Also if it happens to be cold while she has shorter hair, it is a bonus for us because she would come for more cuddles hehehehe

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All photos belong to @supersoju

Sort:  

Soju so cute... and your line "What a fussy cat" , made me laugh... lolx.

😂 There were no other words to describe her

First off, big hugs for the shout out. The opening sentence came to me as I was replying to your comment and decided that including Soju will be fun and motivate me out of my Steemit weariness. Then I just had to run with it. 😊

But with that said, I am in so much trouble. I know you’re going to virtually wack me across the head by the end and Soju will definitely bite me for revealing her secrets.... lol

And the scary thing? For the first time in my life, I actually said to hubby: “Hey, maybe we could get a cat as a pet.”

He looked at me as if I had grown two heads. We’re dog people. 🤣

Cats are so filled with character, I always include them in my stories. And in writing this, you’ve just given me another idea! But this is actually for my real project, my novel.
more excited hugs

Now, enough about me. Back to you. Only you could make reading about shaving a cat entertaining. I cannot believe I read about shaving a cat’s backside! Poor Soju, she did look a little skinned after being shaved! Lol. Anyway, so cute how you write this stuff so keenly. I feel like soju’s an old pal now, so loved this update! ❤️

You're welcome. I just re-read my post and saw I had errors in my shout out when I was editing it lol. Oopsie daisy, I was in a bit of a rush because I had to head out for a birthday party that took us 1hr20mins to get to. lol

Soju will definitely bite me for revealing her secrets.... lol

Hahaha Soju will forgive you if you give her treats lol

He looked at me as if I had grown two heads. We’re dog people. 🤣

🤣🤣 My partner told me to tell you that he use to be a dog person. Actually both my partner and I thought we were dog people. Til we got a cat and it changed our lives lol. You are correct, cats have big individual personalities/characters. They are hilarious and entertaining with their ever-changing behaviours and silliness. We like to call Soju a weirdo when she does something odd. Shhhh don't tell her what it means. She thinks it is a compliment because we would smile at her when we say it.

And in writing this, you’ve just given me another idea! But this is actually for my real project, my novel.

heheheh Nice!! 👍👍

Poor Soju, she did look a little skinned after being shaved!

hahahaha you should of seen her when we used scissors to cut it. My cousin saw her and asked in a concerned voice, 'What happened to her?' I think he thought she got into a fight or something lol

Anyway, so cute how you write this stuff so keenly. I feel like soju’s an old pal now, so loved this update!

Poor Soju, her mummy is sharing funny embarrassing photos and stories of her. But she is making friends in the process! 😉

Shaving animals that don't want to be shaved can be challenging. I have two cavoodle dogs and by the time I finished shaving them I could barely stand up straight, and also have a garbage bag full of hair. Its a big job, and takes about three hours.

Eeek three hours!!
I don't know how long we take. We give Soju breaks in between before she gets tempted by the trail of treats. I don't even shave her tummy because I'm too scared to.

Awww... Poor Soju... She really is soooo fluffy! I did not realise it was a problem until I read this! My kitty when I had her was an orange tabby; her fur was just about 1.5 inch long, so I didn't have any trouble although off and on, she would cough up hairballs. Sadly I lost her to old age about 10 years ago - my one and only kitty - no more, I promised. We had her for 20 years! Now we just play with the community cats in my apartment grounds... :)

hehehehe Soju gets pretty fluffy; once someone saw her and thought she was a dog because of how big she looked lol
Awwww I am so sorry for your loss of your one and only kitty.😿 That would have been very heartbreaking. Wow she lived for 20 years!!! 🙀
How many community cats are there in your apartment grounds? I wish I could play with many cats.

Well, the favourite among all is CC (Community Cat - or CC which was coined by my online friends, after I kept writing about her) now we have the 2 orange, one more grey/white, 2 black and white including a fluffy tail and a fluffy beigey that comes out once in awhile. Other than CC, the rest have owners but love outdoor living! That's my apartment block!! Lol... the other block has their own cat community - sometimes they sneak over and get shoo-ed away by the ones here... hehe

hehehe awww they just wanted to play too. Poor kitties. That is really cool you have that many cats to play with.

Poor Soju. She doesn't look happy. I would like to see her face under your microscope, a close up of how she feels.

😂 Would if she could fit

OMG! Meow! poor soju I hope that never happens to me :(

Soju: You have short hair so you should be fine. Though if you see them bring out clippers.... RUN!!!!

Cat pics. ❤ It's caturday again. Maybe I should post a cat pic too. Haha.

Why not, better get posting before caturday finishes

I didn't get any new pics. 😁 I forgot.

Indah... esteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28