Nine cat lives (part 1) the Gentleman

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

I got my first cat when I was 7 years old.
Poerk had to cope with 9 times moving house. Probably for cats moving house is the same traumatic as losing one of their 9 lives.

1973poerkklein01.jpg

After our last move 18 years later, in the very small attic room he shared with me in the centre of the Alkmaar, Poerk suddenly grew older and thinner very fast. His joints became stiff and he preferred to lie on a cushion in the direct heat of my desk lamp. For that purpose I left the lamp on day and night. It was 1990 and I never had heard of cherry pit pillows or electric mini blankets yet. He was like an egg in an incubator.
Every Friday night I transported him 200 kilometres in my car to other end of the Netherlands, where my boyfriend studied and where we spent the weekend. My boyfriend's room was bigger than mine and he had the luxury of a balcony too.
Poerk did not offer any resistance when I carried him in my arms through the busy main shopping street to my car. People always looked somewhat amused; such a big brave cat in a busy shopping street looked misplaced.
Like almost all elderly cats, a kidney problem had developed and beside advising a special diet, there was nothing more the vet could do.
When it seemed my precious grey gentleman constantly got dizzy and finally even fainted, I had to take him to the vet ... for the very last time.
I'm sure you cat lovers know the drill. The death of a cat means crying loud for 3 days. And then another 3 weeks weeping softly.

Untitled-40-copy.jpg

Sort:  

Yes I know the drill all to well. Memories fad but can always be recalled. 18 years is a good long friendship.

Your little kitten looked so funny in that photo!

Sitting on his bum, hahaha hartje.gif

No! It 's his face and his eyes! Just like a human saying 'what are you doing with that thing?'
He's quite surprised to see a camera!

You got a 11.36% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @red-white-blue!

Mountain lions are strong jumpers, thanks to muscular hind legs that are longer than their front legs.

You got a 25.00% Prime Upvote from @alphaprime courtesy of @red-white-blue!

All Upvoted posts are considered for additional Upvotes and Resteem based on quality content criteria chosen by our moderators in an effort to give something back to the community.

If you have any queries, want to send a feedback or interested in delegating SteemPower to us please join our discord channel.

The term “puss” is the root of the principal word for “cat” in the Romanian term pisica and the root of secondary words in Lithuanian (puz) and Low German puus. Some scholars suggest that “puss” could be imitative of the hissing sound used to get a cat’s attention. As a slang word for the female pudenda, it could be associated with the connotation of a cat being soft, warm, and fuzzy.

What a fantastic work you are doing? CHEER @red-white-blue ✯◡✯

I now realise my Mum did fantastic work ... by crocheting that table cloth!
(where the hell did that thing go?!)

The smallest pedigreed cat is a Singapura, which can weigh just 4 lbs (1.8 kg), or about five large cans of cat food. The largest pedigreed cats are Maine Coon cats, which can weigh 25 lbs (11.3 kg), or nearly twice as much as an average cat weighs.

You got a 6.21% upvote from @adriatik courtesy of @red-white-blue!

When a cat drinks, its tongue - which has tiny barbs on it - scoops the liquid up backwards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60871.89
ETH 2724.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43