My art cars (part 1)

in #anarchy7 years ago

This Opel Kadett was the very first car I owned in my life:

opeldazzled00.jpg

In 1989 I visited the Maritime Museum ‘Prins Hendrik’ in Rotterdam. They showed a special theme about the camouflage of ships during World War I. On my way home the idea came up to paint my old car in the same way as the ships.

shipdazzle.jpg

It took a week and probably 200 meter mask tape to paint the car white and then add the black paint.

opel02.jpg

In advance I never had thought about people’s reactions, but sometimes their comments were quite amazing.

opeldazzled01.jpg

Most people were just positively surprised. In fact … often I even got unlawfully right of way, so people got a few more seconds to observe this weird thing. One day in my favourite parking street, a furious woman came out of her house, yelling out that I never may park that nasty, dirty car in her field of vision any more. She screamed that it was a shame! She was under the impression that the black parts were the sooty reminders of a fire.

Another thing I noticed were the empty parking spots beside my car. Even on a busy day the free spaces beside my car stayed empty the longest. Maybe people were afraid that some lunatic would jump out the car and do the same thing with their cars.

After a few years of fun, I had to let her go … dying in front of the junk yard, grabbing attention till the last moment.

opeldazzled05.jpg

Sort:  

It looks very cute!

Maybe people were afraid that some lunatic would jump out the car and do the same thing with their cars.

Good for you that you were getting a lot of parking space for yourself. She really was beautifully cute.

Whaha, thanks. I still miss her.

You are most welcome. I know the feeling. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.48
ETH 2731.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42