Sort:  

It is often so ☹

'people are aint no good' (c) Nick Cave

Nope. You a Cave fan too?

@nikv, i am not a big fan, but I love his 90-es albums.

I like all of his work, dark creature that I am

have you been to any of his gigs? he played in Moscow when I lived there! but I was too young then, I was looking quite in the different directions.

my fave LPs that I listened a lot, are: Kicking Against the Pricks / Tender Prey / The Good Son / Henry's Dream / Let Love In. I consider it, in some way to be the peak of his creativity. (well, one cant go higher and higher and higher all of the time, right? especially for the artist, conception of 'higher' is silly, artist should explore different fields / directions, develop their language, not just 'go higher'. :P )
after the peak you often do the same things, even on more skillful level.. you recreate successfull recipes that worked for you well, etc. its quite a common case, when I love the 1st albums which contain something (novelty? originality? energy? passion? idk) something that I dont find in the later creations.

'15ft of Pure White Snow' from 'No More Shall We Part' CD that i've bought probably was the last song that I enjoyed very much and even sang it a lot. I tried to gave this LP a lot of chances in terms of relistening, but eventually just gave up and turned to other artists. (Lou Reed, Tom Waits, Radiohead came in and took over the place in my mind :P )

ps. and, sometimes we love things not for their greatness etc, but for the reason they got an imprint on us, we love our own memories from the past associated / reflected / gathered in them)

pps. what do you think of Thom Waits?

I always liked Tom waits. I see Nick as mellowing with age musically. But Blixa Bargeld is also gone.
Nick's lyrics have changed from his more "writerly" themes to more personal. I don't mind that.
Some of us just get like that. I recently turned 50, BTW so I think I get it
Nick has never visited my country AFAIK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65231.23
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48