Distasteful tasks

in #cats5 years ago (edited)

Katia is a small cat and an avid hunter. I think that she is unable to catch full-grown rats as they are simply too big for her but she is an ace at catching unwary rat pups as they venture out into the world for the first time and unfortunately, she isn't a quick and efficient killer of prey as the other cats are, she brings them home alive to torment until they finally die and the sound of infantile rat shrieks is more than I can bear so I end up taking them away from her and putting them out of their misery. Here she is looking at me with her if you take away my toys, I will only go and get more look

Cat.jpg

Any wild animal that simply sits in your hand like this is already severely injured and I'd prefer it if they didn't grow into adult rats so I just have to do my duty and end the suffering sooner. Today, she must have caught an entire litter, she managed to bring five inside and only one was already dead so I spent my day as a mass-murderer of four rat pups. They were probably about 3 weeks old. Sigh...

The things this cat makes me do: if it's not putting half-dead mutilated lizards into the freezer so that they die quickly, it's knocking rats unconscious and then putting a heavy weight over the ribcage so that they stop breathing.

Of course, the dead ratlings are not wasted, Ms P spent her day snacking on them in between meals. She goes hunting too, but happily eats anything else that the others catch and bring into the house. She's getting fat again.

First posted here on my blog in WeKu

Sort:  

Oh...
I am very afraid of mice and rats, even if they are half dead!
I could not hold it in my hand ...
You are brave!
And then, how difficult actions for are to alleviate her suffering ...

I don't like it but I like the torture even less

Cats...... doing what they are meant to do......

I envy you and your cats.....

Our cats eat their prey chopped up in a can, that i put in a bowl of course.

I wish they could experience the thrill of the kill....... oh look at that will ya. I sound just like you, ya murderer....... lol.

Juss kidding. The real world...... many do not live in it. Sounds like You do. And that is really cool......

Sammi Jo agrees.....

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree about them being able to do what they are meant to do. I just wish they wouldn't drag me into it

Exactly how I feel about the LITTER BOXES. !!!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's a dirty deed you must do. The other cats don't try to kill what Katia brings home?

If they can get it away from her. That takes a while, accompanied by small rodent shrieks. I can't bear it

I'm both happy and sad there are no rodents in our house for Crypticat to catch. Good for Katia!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's always better to be rodentless. She's busy girl, I live next door to a nature reserve so she has her pick of small animals to massacre

Mi gato los deja mutilados, las lagartijas y los ratoncitos. Al frente de la puerta principal de mi casa. Creo que me obsequia con esos pedazos. No sé como explicarle que esos animales no me agradan en mi menú.

Mine just bring it home because it is convenient to them to play in the house

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Oh! No! I hope I never had to do anything like this!! You are a cats’ employee!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The worst is when they catch rats and eat them in my bedroom at night. I had one that would eat rats in my bed

Unfortunately in nature there is a struggle between different species for survival. This contributes to the fact that some populations would not multiply strongly. If rats breed hard, it will not be very good.

Nothing like a bit of blood and bone for the compost 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50