DIRT BATH //

in #cats6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday Scary Mary got out. It was a hot day, hottest so far this Spring. After chewing on some grass her thing is to roll on her back in the dirt. What a mess.

IMG_8096.JPG

IMG_8095.JPG

IMG_8097.JPG

IMG_8099.JPG

IMG_8101.JPG

IMG_8102.JPG

IMG_8100.JPG

After she was through I tried putting some Frontline equivalent on her, but she just wouldn't cooperate. I don't know what it is. I can pet her all over and rub my finger like it was the applicator ok . Maybe the smell I don't know.

Once she finally was inside she let me wipe her off with a warm wet cloth.

Sort:  

Yea its the chemicals some cats are extra sensitive to it, for example my cat Toffee starts getting runny eyes @manorvillemike but gosh its so nice to see Mary out enjoying herself very cute.

It's a catch 22 .... If I don't stay with her she will take off and may get a disease from another cat or bring back ticks and fleas.

Well, Scary Mary has come a long way, indeed! She let you wipe her off with a warm wet cloth! That's pretty trusting on her part, I'd say. Any progress on getting her accepted into the general clan? How is the stair landing/screen introduction going?

The acceptance may only be wishful thinking, she is not a pushover.

Well, it took three weeks for my 4-year-old to not growl, or run away, or run away growling. He did rush an attack a couple of times, but the 6 month old kitten handled it beautifully with appropriate responses, and I scolded Simon with some "No's". Eventually, they blended and Simon and Noah run around together and generally get along, except for the occasional possessiveness of owner syndrome. It is more difficult with older cats perhaps, but nobody is going anywhere and time can be your friend.

A little harder when introducing one with 10.

Of course, a lot harder. A friend of mine has been doing this for quite some time with many cats; I will ask her for some examples of what she has done. She has a fluctuating herd because some she keeps and some she finds homes for.

Thanks any help would be most appreciated.

what is this

Hhhhh yes cats love to do that. She is happy to go our after a long winter. The other cats might be jealous seeing her from the window ;)

Bet they are jealous. But cleaner...

She looks so happy. Pachino and Ollie love to roll in the dirt too. And when I put the flea and tick medicine on Pachino, it is a huge ordeal. He fights me the whole way, hissing and tries to bite me. Not fun.

Wow wouldn't think Pachino could do that to you. He loves you so. Just goes to show you the independent streak in cats.

Awe nothing like a good dirt bath :-)
Scary Mary looks real happy doing that!
Does the basement have a window or
door that leads to the outside? Was thinking
about your previous posting about her and
that perhaps a outside cat jungle gym totally
fenced in sides and top play area?

No fleas or ticks here, friends in the lower 48
say their cats hate the smell of those meds. 🐱

Lot of ticks here in Manorville. Plus mosquitoes that carry disease.

Yeah, must be the smell she hissed at me when trying to put it on.

What a different behavior from Scary Mary respect to your other cats; They are like two different cat worlds that come from different pasts ... Scary Mary, she seems happy being alone ... I think you've done a good job, until now, because at least she already accepts you ... Greetings @manorvillemike.

Mary loves me but has been away from other cats too long.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Secretly, we humans want to do the same :)

Nay I pass. lol

My cats aften do that also, I don't know why, but after a while they have returned on their habit. :)

Dirty habit. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44