Heading Toward the Rainbow Bridge - My Sweet Georgy Cat

in #cats4 years ago

I just got back from the vet. I'm so sad that I feel sick.
Actually I feel kinda numb and sad at this point because I had a panic attack while I was crying and felt like I couldn't breathe so I took a Xanax.

It's time for my Georgy cat to move on.
He's been with me for over 18 years.
But now he is suffering.
I was so young when I got him ... he's been with me my whole adult life.
He's had to deal with moving about 15 times during that time.
He's been with me during so many hard times. Cuddling with him has helped me so much over the years.
He used to be the happiest cat ... always overweight no matter how many diets I tried ... but always joyful and playful.
These last 5 years have been a slow and steady deterioration of his health.
He was 24 pounds...now he is 8 pounds.
He is now blind and mostly deaf.
He is showing signs of neurological issues.
He has a hard time walking and falls quite often.
He is no longer happy Georgy.
I feel that he is suffering, but as any pet owner knows, we have no way of truly knowing ... and this is the hardest part.
He still purrs when I pet him. He still wants to eat.
But the rest of the day he just cries... he can't get around, and when he does he falls.
The doc thinks the neurological issues are causing confusion so he is disoriented as well as blind.
He had a fever so the doc gave him an antibiotic and an anti-inflammatory for the pain.
This can help him not suffer as much during his last week.
I'm so sad and I have no idea how I'm going to take him next week to say goodbye.

I've had so many phones over the years. I don't really understand why the pics didn't move to each new phone, but I'm sad that I can't access all the cute photos I had of Georgy. These are the only pics I can find right now.

Sort:  

Oh, honey. Grief is a perfectly acceptable response. I'm so glad you've had his company this long... and I know it doesn't make it any less sad, but kitty heaven has got to be one of the most perfect places in existence. Love you.

Thank you Katrina, love you too ❤️

😢 I'm so sorry.
I completely understand. Just thinking about it puts a hard lump in my chest.
I'm sure (even by the few pics) that Georgy was the happiest of kitties. He still purrs because he still loves you, no matter if it hurts. You're in my thoughts.

I'd hug you if we were closer. ❤️

Thank you Carrie ♥️

I'm sorry isa ❤️😭 I only ever owned one cat and he made it with me until he was about 19 and I had a very hard time getting over it :/

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Julia, 19 is a long time for a kitty ♥️

I'm so sorry to hear this, sweetie... 😥

Thank you kitty ♥️

hard to lose them even when you know it means they wont be suffering. He looks like an awesome boy... sing him over the rainbow bridge.. he'll know you were with him.

Congratulations @rycharde, 4.77% upvote has been shared with your successful call on the post that shared by @isaria!


Support @trendotoken projects by delegating : 100SP , 200SP , 500SP , 1000SP , 2000SP

Congratulations @isaria, your post successfully recieved 6.0680745 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@rycharde earned : 4.045383 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Hi @isaria, a modest tip of appreciation:
$trendotoken and !trendovoter .
Also, please check out my Fourth Nonsense Writing Contest.
Thanks!

Congratulations @rycharde, you successfuly trended the post shared by @isaria!
@isaria will receive 6.06807450 TRDO & @rycharde will get 4.04538300 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38